Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Undocumented Students: Resources & Research: Finding Articles

Library Research: Search for Articles in Library Databases

Use the recommended library article databases below to research current events and topics relating to undocumented immigrants and immigration.

Don't forget to contact a Skyline College Librarian if you'd like help.

OneSearch

Find books and articles at Skyline College Library with undefined

About OneSearch

Using "OneSearch"

OneSearch

Search most of Skyline Library's article databases and book catalog to find a wide range of articles from academic journals, popular magazines, newspapers and reference sources, e-books & other documents, plus print books available in the library.

Click on the link above to open a new database window

To search for more than one "concept", click on Advanced Search below the Search box.

In each search box, type the search word(s) for a separate concept.
Type an OR between synonymous words for the same concept.
Use an * to search for multiple words from the same root, e.g. legal* will find articles with the words: legal, legalize, legally
Use quote marks (“ ”) around search phrases (multiple words that should be searched together), e.g. “human rights”

 For example:

"immigration reform*"  AND

econom* OR business* AND

California

Click the “Search” button to begin a search

  • When the results page is displayed, click on an article title to see detailed information and a summary of the article.
  • To see the full-text of an article, click on PDF Full Text or HTML Full Text at the left of the detailed information page
  • To print or e-mail an article, click on the print or e-mail buttons at the right of the article. A source citation will also be sent when you email a document. You can select the citation format (MLA, APA, Chicago) from the menu in the email box.

Recommended Article Databases

Academic Search Complete

Log in as you would to Canvas to find full-text articles from leading journals. Coverage is multi-disciplinary and includes full text for more than 3,700 peer-reviewed titles. Updated daily. 1975 -

California Legislative Information "Bill Search"

 

Search for California laws and bills relating to immigration, DACA, and related topics. Search tip: Click the "Bill Information" tab to search for newly proposed bills on immigration. Search tip: In the Keyword(s) box, try words like "immigration," "immigrants" and DACA.

ERIC (EBSCO)

Log in as you would to Canvas to find abstracts (and in some cases, full-text) articles, reports, book reviews and government documents covering all aspects of education from 1966 to the present. Keywords: Undocumented students.

Newspaper Source Plus (EBSCO)
Log in as you would to Canvas to search 860 full-text newspapers, providing more than 35 million full-text articles. In addition, the database features more than 857,000 television and radio news transcripts.

Ask a Librarian

Not sure where to start? 

undefined