LibGuides: OER Faculty Guide: Finding &amp; Using OER: STEM

Clinical Procedures for Safer Patient Care Clinical Procedures for Safer Patient Care was developed to ensure best practice and quality care based on the latest evidence, and to address inconsistencies in how clinical health care skills are taught and practiced in the clinical setting.
Complete Subjective Health Assessment
Creative Clinical Teaching in the Health Professions (Athabasca University)
Critical Care Nursing of Infants and Children This publication of the second edition of Critical Care Nursing of Infants and Children is another important milestone in the evolving development of pediatric critical care nursing. 2001
Disease Prevention and Healthy Lifestyles (Lumen Learning)
Health Case Studies (Open Textbook Library)
InTech Open Science Open Minds InTechOpen is the world's largest Science, Technology and Medicine Open Access book publisher. With a goal to provide free online access to research since 2004.
National Academies Press Many of the books published by the National Academies Press can be downloaded for free in PDF format. Search the Health and Medicine collection. Site requires that you provide name and email.
Nursing Care at the End of Life: What Every Clinician Should Know
OPEN RN: Nursing Parmacology (2020, OPEN RN)
Open Textbooks (Skills Commons)
Undergraduate Diagnostic Imaging Fundamentals (University of Saskatchewan)

Pre-Clinical Series

The series is supported in part by funding and/or in-kind contributions from VIVA’s Open Course Grants, Virginia Tech’s Open Education Initiative, Virginia Tech Publishing, and LibreTexts. Read more about this series in the March 4th, 2022 VT news story by Ann Brown “Open medical textbook series offers curriculum flexibility for faculty and cost savings for students.” The books are listed in the Open Textbook Library, OER Commons, VIVA Open, and Merlot. Unless otherwise noted, these works are released under a Creative Commons Attribution NonCommercial-ShareAlike (CC BY NC SA) 4.0 license which allows adaptation and redistribution with attribution for uses which are not primarily commercial.

Pulmonary Physiology for Pre-Clinical Students (101 pages) is an undergraduate medical-level resource for foundational knowledge of pulmonary physiology.
Pulmonary Pathophysiology for Pre-Clinical Students (82 pages) is an undergraduate medical-level resource for foundational knowledge of pulmonary pathophysiology. The text assumes that the students will have an understanding of basic pulmonary physiology that will be helpful to understand the content presented here. (2022, Virginia Tech/Binks, CC BY-NC-SA)
Cell Biology, Genetics, and Biochemistry for Pre-Clinical Students (265 pages) by LeClair
Neuroscience for Pre-Clinical Students (39 pages) by LeClair
Cardiovascular Pathophysiology for Pre-Clinical Students (69 pages) by Binks

SAGE Open Medical Case Reports (Open Access Journal)
Disease Prevention and Healthy Lifestyles (Lumen Learning)
OPEN RN (Chippewa Valley Technical College)
MedEdPORTAL (Open Access Journal)
MERLOT Health Sciences Portal
MERLOT Health Sciences Search page
Medical | Open.Michigan
The mission of the U-M Medical School is to educate students, physicians, and biomedical scholars and to provide a spectrum of comprehensive knowledge, research, patient care and service of the highest quality to the people of the State of Michigan and beyond.

NCLEX-RN Khan Academy
Prepare for the NCLEX-RN with video review and practice questions.
MedlinePlus
Health videos made available to you by the U.S. National Library of Medicine. Watch health videos on topics such as anatomy and body systems, surgical procedures and health news. Test your knowledge with interactive tutorials and games. Check your health with calculators and quizzes.
TEDMED videos
Provides video presentations from 2009 to the present about health and medicine.
Radiation Emergency medical Management - REEM

Allied Health: Nutrition Textbooks

Nutrition

Human Nutrition (University of Hawai'i/Open Textbook Library)
Introduction to Digestion and Nutrition (Stanford University)
An Introduction to Nutrition (OER Commons)
Nutrition (Sacramento City College/LibreTexts)

Allied Health: Nutrition Course Materials

Choose My Plate (U.S. Department of Agriculture) A website devoted to developing a healthy eating style. Includes dietary guidelines, physical activities, quizzes and other online tools.
Food and Nutrition Information Center (National Agricultural Library, USDA) FNIC serves the professional community (including educators, health professionals and researchers) by providing access to a wide range of trustworthy food and nutrition resources from both government and non-government sources. FNIC website contains more than 2,500 links to current and reliable nutrition information.
Nutrition.gov (U.S. Department of Agriculture) A USDA-sponsored website that offers credible information to help make healthful eating choices. It serves as a gateway to reliable information on nutrition, healthy eating, physical activity, and food safety for consumers.

Allied Health: Nutrition Videos

Choosing Good Nutrition (World Health Organization)

Astronomy: Textbooks

Astronomy 2e (Openstax) NEW
Astronomy (OpenStax)
General Astronomy (Wikibooks)
Hubble 25: A Quarter-Century of Discovery with the Hubble Space Telescope (NASA)

Astronomy: Course Materials

Teach Astronomy (OER Commons)
Site includes astronomy textbook, images, videos, podcasts, glossary and more.
The Astronomy Center (American Association of Physics Teachers/National Science Foundation)
A collection of digital resources for college-level introductory astronomy faculty and students. Includes books, labs, simulations, projects and images.
ComPADRE Digital Library (American Association of Physics Teachers)
A network of free online resource collections supporting faculty, students, and teachers in physics and astronomy education.
NASA STEM Engagement (National Aeronautics and Space Administration)
Resources and engagement opportunities for post-secondary educators.

Biology: Lab Manuals

A Mixed Course-Based Research Approach to Human Physiology (2021, Iowa State University, CC BY)
BIOL 260 Human Physiology Lab Manual (Skyline Bookstore)

Biology: Lab Simulation Resources

Health Sciences Lab Simulations

ActivEpi
An electronic textbook for teaching epidemiology.
Community Health Nursing
Resources for the Community Nursing Diagnosis Assessment.
Jim Allison: Breakthrough
Award winning documentary with accompanying toolkit and lesson plans.

more...
MDCUNE
Modular Digital Course in Undergraduate Neuroscience Education (MDCUNE) provides completely digital, inquiry-based laboratory modules in neuroscience.
Nordic University Health Hub
Open Educational Resources on Health from Nordic universities.
Open Neuroscience Education
Labs, open data, and other resources for teaching neuroscience.
Public Health Image Library (PHIL)
Offers an organized, universal electronic gateway to CDC's pictures.
Solve the Outbreak
Epidemiology simulation from the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention.

Biology Lab Simulations

Biology Simulations
Simulations to help students learn about biology and practice data analysis skills.
Bioman Biology
BioMan Biology is the fun place to learn Biology! Here you will find learning games, review games, virtual labs and quizzes that will help you to learn about cells, ecology, genetics, physiology, and much more!
Build Your Own Brain (BYOB)
An online game that lets the user build a simple network of neurons and see how they might function.
Case It!
Molecular biology simulations for case-based learning in biology.
DNA from the Beginning
An animated primer of 75 experiments that made modern genetics.
Evo Ed
Case studies in evolution that track the development of traits from their origination in DNA mutation, to the production of different proteins, to the fixation of alternate macroscopic phenotypes in reproductively isolated populations.
Gelbox
Open source interactive simulation tool for gel electrophorisis.

more...
General Microbiology Labs
Labs and lectures on microbiology from the University of Wyoming.
Geniventure
Students level up as they select alleles to control phenotypes, make predictions from genotypes, use meiosis to create gametes, and study inheritance by breeding baby drakes.
HHMI BioInteractive
Labs, interactive media, and videos. Also offers iOS apps.
Learn.Genetics
Offers online lessons in genetics, cell biology, evolution, human health, plant biology, neuroscience, and ecology. Also offers interactive genetics labs.
NAVS Online Dissection Resources
Curated list of virtual dissection labs and simulations from the National Anti-Vivisection Society.
NCEP Resources for Conservation Educators and Practitioners
Open access, electronic resources for conservation educators and trainers. They include diverse topics in conservation science and are designed for the post-secondary level.
Neuroscience in the time of Corona
Crowd-sourced compendium of resources for teaching neuroscience.
Nursing Assistant Resources: Virtual Dissection
Virtual dissection labs for studying human and animal anatomy and physiology.
Optical Microscopy Primer
Virtual microscopes that offer lessons in specimen focus, illumination intensity, magnification, and translation.
QUBES
Virtual labs and simulations for teaching quantitative biology.
Science Bank Online Dissection Resources
Virtual dissection resources.

more...
StarGenetics
Mendelian genetics cross simulator. Allows students to simulate mating experiments between organisms that are genetically different across a range of traits to analyze the nature of the traits in question.
Virtual Fetal Pig Dissection
Supplement to laboratory dissections exploring introductory mammalian anatomy and physiology.
Whole Frog Project
Provides the ability to explore the anatomy of a frog by using data from high resolution MRI imaging and mechanical sectioning, together with 3D surface and volume rendering software.

Physiology Lab Simulation Repositories

Human Bio Media (CC BY 4.0) Virtual Recreations of Common Lab Tests and Activities
PhET (Open Source Code)
MIT Open Course Ware (CC BY-NC-SA, MIT)

Anatomy Lab & Activities Resources

Anatomy Tool (CC BY-NC-SA) Open Anatomy Learning Resources
eSkeletons Provides an interactive environment in which to examine and learn about skeletal anatomy.
LabXchange (various CC licenses, Harvard; account log in required, no-fee)
PhET (Open Source Code)

Biology: Other Resources

Anatomical Illustrations, 2e (2022, Iowa State U, CC BY-NC-SA 3.0)
Anatomical Illustrations (2021, Iowa State U., CC BY-NC-SA)
StatPearls (2021, NIH: StatPearls, CC BY 4.0) StatPearls is a comprehensive and constantly updated medical database for physicians, physician assistants, nurses, nurse practitioners, pharmacists, and other health professionals and students.

Chemistry: Textbooks

Materials Science

Materials Science and Engineering (2019, Pacific Open Texts, CC BY-NC-ND)

Chemistry: Course Materials

Chemistry Library Includes textbooks, homework exercises, worksheets, exemplars and case studies, visualizations and simulations, and demos, techniques and experiments. (2020, LibreTexts various licenses)
Organic Chemistry Toolkit Practice tools, study guides and quizzes. (St. Olaf College)
PHet Interactive Simulations Free interactive math and science simulations. (2020, UC Boulder)
University of Irvine CA Open Chemistry OpenChem provides a full curriculum of recorded lectures covering undergraduate chemistry. (2020, UCI)

Chemistry: Lab Simulations

Algodoo
Gives users the opportunity to play with physics. Use your own hands and simple drawing tools to design, construct and explore the world of physics.
Astro Simulations
Online implementation of several NAAP simulations from the Columbia University Center for Teaching and Learning.
Chem1 Virtual Textbook
Reference text for general chemistry.
CheMagic
Provides a virtual model kit, chemistry demonstration videos, and liberal arts chemistry essays.
ChemCollective
A collection of virtual labs, scenario-based learning activities, tutorials, and concept tests.
Chemix
Chemix is an online editor for drawing science lab diagrams and school experiment apparatus. The app provides easy sketching for both students and teachers.
ChemReaX
A chemical reaction modeling and simulation app.
ChemSims
Simulations from the National Science Foundation covering solubility, kinetics, atomic interactions, gas laws, equilibrium, acid base, photoelectric effect, and atomic emissions.
Digital Lab Techniques Manual
A series of videos designed to help users prepare for chemistry laboratory class.
GEAS Project Astronomy Laboratory Exercises
Online exercises designed for distance learning. Includes archive of images and spectra as well as video tutorials.

more...
goREACT
Create virtual chemical reactions.
The Habitable Planet: A Systems Approach to Environmental Science
Environmental Science online course text and a coordinated website which includes streamed video programs, five interactive simulations, background on the scientists who created the content and those whose research is documented, a professional development guide, and additional resources.
HTML5 Physics Simulations
Manipulate systems and experiment with climate change, motion, forces, gravity, momentum, energy, and rotation.
Jules Verne Voyager, Jr.
An interactive map developed by UNAVCO where users can add earthquakes, stress axes, volcanoes, or plate boundaries to the entire world or by country.

more...
Mixed Reception
Students use molar mass calculations, the scientific method, and basic knowledge of chemical reactions to solve a murder mystery. Students interview suspects and gather evidence as they solve the case.

more...
NC State Undergraduate Organic Chemistry Teaching Laboratories - S.M.A.R.T. Lab Videos
Student created videos teaching introductory organic chemistry lab techniques.
Nebraska Astronomy Applet Project
Simulations of a wide range of astronomical phenomena, organized into unites of related simulations with readings.

more...
Nuclear Reimagined Virtual Field Trip
Journey to the leading nuclear research facility in the country, Idaho National Laboratory. Step inside a nuclear reactor, explore unexpected careers in nuclear science, and see what the future may hold thanks to advances in nuclear capabilities.
Online Resources for Organic Chemistry
List of URLs to online animations, videos, simulations, & demos compiled by the chem ed and biochem ed communities.

more...
Open Source Physics
Provides curriculum resources that engage students in physics, computation, and computer modeling. Computational physics and computer modeling provide students with new ways to understand, describe, explain, and predict physical phenomena.
oPhysics
A collection of interactive physics simulations.
Physical Geology 101 Lab Study Material
A handful of virtual labs with fillable worksheets and lab reports.
The Physics Aviary
Cross-platform, run-anywhere, programs to help physics students around the world master the big ideas in physics.
The Physics Classroom
Physics simulations, tutorials, and concept builders.
Physics Simulations
Interactive physics simulations.
PlanetMaker
Allows users to create and tweak their own planet using image textures and lighting.
Royal Society of Chemistry Education Resources
Resources to help teach chemistry for primary, secondary, and higher education.
Scilab
Open source software for numerical computation.
SDSS Skyserver Projects
Activities to examine many topics in astronomy including H-R diagrams, spectroscopies, galaxy classification, Hubble's Law, and more.
Teaching Geoscience Online
Geoscience lab activities.
Tutorial Materials and Resources by Professor Gary L. Bertrand
List of simulated experiments, self-tests, and tutorials.
Virtual Chemistry Experiments
A collection of interactive web-based chemistry tutorials.
Virtual Microscope
Allows users to examine and explore minerals and microscopic features of rocks, helping them to develop classification and identification skills without the need for high-cost microscopes and thin section preparation facilities.

Computing

Algorithms and Data Structures With Applications to Graphics and Geometry (Global Text Project/Open Textbook Library)
A Brief Introduction to Engineering Computation with MATLAB (BC Institute of Technology/Open Textbook Library)
A Computational Introduction to Number Theory and Algebra (New York University/Open Textbook Library)
Digital Circuit Projects: An Overview of Digital Circuits Through Implementing Integrated Circuits (Gettysburg College)
Foundations of Computation (Hobart and William Smith Colleges/Open Textbook Library)
High Performance Computing (OpenStax CNX/Open Textbook Library)
Implementing a One Address CPU in Logisim (Gettysburg College/Open Textbook Library)
An Introduction to Ontology Engineering (University of Cape Town/Open Textbook Library)
Introduction to the Modeling and Analysis of Complex Systems (Open SUNY/Open Textbook Library)
Signal Computing: Digital Signals in the Software Domain (Open Textbook Library)

Databases

Database Design (City University/Open Textbook Library)
Relational Databases and Microsoft Access (University of Winnipeg/Open Textbook Library)

Information Systems

Business Information Systems: Design an App for That (Ohio University/Open Textbook Library)
Information Systems for Business and Beyond (Biola University/Open Textbook Library)
Information Systems: A Manager's Guide to Harnessing Technology (University of Minnesota/Open Textbook Library)

Networks

Computer Networking: Principles, Protocols and Practice (Saylor Foundation/Open Textbook Library)
An Introduction to Computer Networks (Loyola University/Open Textbook Library)

Programming Languages: Assembly

Introduction to MIPS Assembly Language Programming (Gettysburg College/Open Textbook Library)

Programming Languages: C

Embedded Controllers Using C and Arduino (Open Textbook Library)
How to Think Like a Computer Scientist: C Version (Open Textbook Library)
How to Think Like a Computer Scientist: C++ Version (Open Textbook Library)
Programming Fundamentals - A Modular Structured Approach Using C++ (Houston Community College/Open Textbook Library)

Programming Languages: Java

Eloquent JavaScript: A Modern Introduction to Programming (Open Textbook Library)
Introduction to Programming Using Java (Hobart and William Smith Colleges/Open Textbook Library)
Java, Java, Java : Object-Oriented Problem Solving (Trinity College/Open Textbook Library)
Think Data Structures: Algorithms and Information Retrieval in Java (Open Textbook Library)

Programming Languages: Pharo

Deep into Pharo (Open Textbook Library)
Enterprise Pharo: A Web Perspective (Open Textbook Library)
The Spec UI Framework (Open Textbook Library)

Programming Languages: Python

A Byte of Python (Open Textbook Library)
How to Think Like a Computer Scientist: Learning with Python (Open Textbook Library)

Programming Languages: Squeak

Squeak by Example (Open Textbook Library)

Robotics

Introduction to Autonomous Robots (University of Colorado-Boulder/Open Textbook Library)

Computer Science: O'Reilly Media Tech eBooks

O'Reilly Media This link opens in a new window
access to 50K+ titles (including O’Reilly books in early release), 30K+ hours of video, case studies from top companies and more—with nearly 1,000 topics to explore in technology and business.

Environmental Science & Technology: Textbooks

Environmental Science

Environmental Biology (Open Oregon/BC Campus)
Environmental Science in the 21st Century (Texas A&M)
Introduction to Environmental Science (Georgia College and State University/Galileo)
Sustainability: A Comprehensive Foundation (University of Illinois/BC Campus)
Climate Toolkit: A Resource Manual for Science and Action - Version 2.0 (2020, Granshaw, CC BY-NC)

Environmental Science & Technology: Lab Simulations

Algodoo
Gives users the opportunity to play with physics. Use your own hands and simple drawing tools to design, construct and explore the world of physics.
Astro Simulations
Online implementation of several NAAP simulations from the Columbia University Center for Teaching and Learning.
Chem1 Virtual Textbook
Reference text for general chemistry.
CheMagic
Provides a virtual model kit, chemistry demonstration videos, and liberal arts chemistry essays.
ChemCollective
A collection of virtual labs, scenario-based learning activities, tutorials, and concept tests.
Chemix
Chemix is an online editor for drawing science lab diagrams and school experiment apparatus. The app provides easy sketching for both students and teachers.
ChemReaX
A chemical reaction modeling and simulation app.
ChemSims
Simulations from the National Science Foundation covering solubility, kinetics, atomic interactions, gas laws, equilibrium, acid base, photoelectric effect, and atomic emissions.
Digital Lab Techniques Manual
A series of videos designed to help users prepare for chemistry laboratory class.
GEAS Project Astronomy Laboratory Exercises
Online exercises designed for distance learning. Includes archive of images and spectra as well as video tutorials.

more...
goREACT
Create virtual chemical reactions.
The Habitable Planet: A Systems Approach to Environmental Science
Environmental Science online course text and a coordinated website which includes streamed video programs, five interactive simulations, background on the scientists who created the content and those whose research is documented, a professional development guide, and additional resources.
HTML5 Physics Simulations
Manipulate systems and experiment with climate change, motion, forces, gravity, momentum, energy, and rotation.
Jules Verne Voyager, Jr.
An interactive map developed by UNAVCO where users can add earthquakes, stress axes, volcanoes, or plate boundaries to the entire world or by country.

more...
Mixed Reception
Students use molar mass calculations, the scientific method, and basic knowledge of chemical reactions to solve a murder mystery. Students interview suspects and gather evidence as they solve the case.

more...
NC State Undergraduate Organic Chemistry Teaching Laboratories - S.M.A.R.T. Lab Videos
Student created videos teaching introductory organic chemistry lab techniques.
Nebraska Astronomy Applet Project
Simulations of a wide range of astronomical phenomena, organized into unites of related simulations with readings.

more...
Nuclear Reimagined Virtual Field Trip
Journey to the leading nuclear research facility in the country, Idaho National Laboratory. Step inside a nuclear reactor, explore unexpected careers in nuclear science, and see what the future may hold thanks to advances in nuclear capabilities.
Online Resources for Organic Chemistry
List of URLs to online animations, videos, simulations, & demos compiled by the chem ed and biochem ed communities.

more...
Open Source Physics
Provides curriculum resources that engage students in physics, computation, and computer modeling. Computational physics and computer modeling provide students with new ways to understand, describe, explain, and predict physical phenomena.
oPhysics
A collection of interactive physics simulations.
Physical Geology 101 Lab Study Material
A handful of virtual labs with fillable worksheets and lab reports.
The Physics Aviary
Cross-platform, run-anywhere, programs to help physics students around the world master the big ideas in physics.
The Physics Classroom
Physics simulations, tutorials, and concept builders.
Physics Simulations
Interactive physics simulations.
PlanetMaker
Allows users to create and tweak their own planet using image textures and lighting.
Royal Society of Chemistry Education Resources
Resources to help teach chemistry for primary, secondary, and higher education.
Scilab
Open source software for numerical computation.
SDSS Skyserver Projects
Activities to examine many topics in astronomy including H-R diagrams, spectroscopies, galaxy classification, Hubble's Law, and more.
Teaching Geoscience Online
Geoscience lab activities.
Tutorial Materials and Resources by Professor Gary L. Bertrand
List of simulated experiments, self-tests, and tutorials.
Virtual Chemistry Experiments
A collection of interactive web-based chemistry tutorials.
Virtual Microscope
Allows users to examine and explore minerals and microscopic features of rocks, helping them to develop classification and identification skills without the need for high-cost microscopes and thin section preparation facilities.

Engineering: Textbooks

Aerospace

Aerodynamics and Aircraft Performance, 3rd edition (2021, BCcampus, CC BY)

Circuits

AC Circuits (University of Oklahoma/Open Textbook Library)
Digital Circuit Projects: An Overview of Digital Circuits Through Implementation of Integrated Circuits (Gettysburg College)

General Engineering

Basics of Fluid Mechanics (Open Textbook Library)
A Brief Introduction to Engineering Computation with MATLAB (BC Institute of Technology/Open Textbook Library)

Electrical Engineering

A First Course in Electrical and Computer Engineering (OpenStax)
Fundamentals of Electrical Engineering I (OpenStax)
Introduction to Physical Electronics (OpenStax)

Industrial

Simulation Modeling and Arena (2021, BCcampus, CC BY)

Materials Science

Materials Science and Engineering (2019, Pacific Open Texts, CC BY-NC-ND)

Mathematics: Textbooks

Algebra & Trigonometry

Matrix Algebra with Computational Applications (2021, CC BY-NC, MSU)
(OpenStax)
Elementary Algebra (OpenStax)
Intermediate Algebra (OpenStax)
College Algebra (OpenStax)
Algebra and Trigonometry (OpenStax)
College Trigonometry (Open Textbook Library)
Trigonometry (Open Textbook Library)

Geometry

Euclidean Plane and Its Relatives (Penn State University/Open Textbook Library)

Precalculus

Stitz Zeiger Open Source Mathematics for Precalculus (CC BY-NC-SA)

Calculus

Precalculus (OpenStax)
Precalculus (University of Washington/Open Textbook Library)
Active Calculus 2.0 (Grand Valley State University/Open Textbook Library)
Active Calculus Multivariable (Grand Valley State University/Open Textbook Library)
Calculus, Vol. 1 (OpenStax)
Calculus, Vol. 2 (OpenStax)
Calculus, Vol. 3 (OpenStax)
Fundamentals of Calculus (Fullerton College)
Calculus in Context (The Five College Calculus Project)
Calculus: Early Transcendentals (LibreTexts)

Linear Algebra

A First Course in Linear Algebra (Brigham Young University/Lyryx/Open Textbook Library)
A First Course in Linear Algebra (University of Puget Sound/Open Textbook Library)

Advanced Mathematics

Computational and Inferential Thinking: The Foundations of Data Science (UC Berkeley, CC BY-NC-ND 4.0)
Abstract Algebra: Theory and Applications (Stephen F. Austin State University/Open Textbook Library)
A Computational Introduction to Number Theory and Algebra (New York University/Open Textbook Library)
A Gentle Introduction to the Art of Mathematics (Southern Connecticut State University/Open Textbook Library)
A Primer of Real Analysis (Furman University/Open Textbook Library)

Statistics

Mostly Harmless Statistics (2021, Webb, CC BY-SA)
Advanced High School Statistics (OpenIntro/Open Textbook Library)
Collaborative Statistics (OpenStax)
Introductory Statistics (OpenStax)
Introductory Business Statistics (OpenStax)
Learning Statistics with R: A Tutorial for Psychology Students and Other Beginners (Open Textbook Library)

Math for ESOL

Teaching Math for Emergent Bilinguals: Building on Culture, Language, and Identity (2020, Iowa State, CC BY-NC-SA)

Engineering: Course Materials

Open Textbooks for Engineering (Repository of textooks, various OER licenses)
Chemical Engineering Separations: A Handbook for Students (supplementary material) (2021, BCcampus, CC BY)

Engineering: Lab Simulations

Energy3D
A simulation-based engineering tool for designing green buildings and power stations that harness renewable energy to achieve sustainable development.
Flowsquare
A two-dimensional computational fluid dynamics (CFD) software for unsteady, non-reactive/reactive flows. The aim of this software is to provide a handy CFD environment so that more people can get to know what CFD is like and simulate flows for their educational and/or academic interests.
GNU Radio
A free & open-source software development toolkit that provides signal processing blocks to implement software radios. It can be used with readily-available low-cost external RF hardware to create software-defined radios, or without hardware in a simulation-like environment.
LogicSim
design and simulate digital logic circuits with logic gates like AND, OR, FlipFlop, etc.
Open Simulation Interface
A generic interface for the environmental perception of automated driving functions in virtual scenarios.
Reactor Lab
A desktop app that provides simulations of a variety of chemical reactors. The Lab is useful in teaching Chemical Reaction Engineering. Students can actively learn about chemical reactions and reactors by performing experiments and analyzing data – quickly, safely, and inexpensively.
SimSE
An educational software engineering simulation environment whose goal is to bridge the gap between the large amount of conceptual software engineering knowledge given to students in lectures and the comparably small amount of this they actually get to put into practice in an associated "toy" software engineering project.
Verilator
Verilog/SystemVerilog simulator.
Virtual Labs
Collection of virtual labs in engineering.
Virtual Labs
Provides users with the result of an experiment by one of the following methods: modeling physical phenomenon through a set of equations and simulations to yield the result of a particular experiment.

Geology: Textbooks

Earth Science

Earth Science (Lumen Learning)

Environmental Science

Environmental Biology (Open Oregon/BC Campus)
Environmental Science in the 21st Century (Texas A&M)
Introduction to Environmental Science, 2nd ed. (Georgia College and State University/Galileo)
Sustainability: A Comprehensive Foundation (University of Illinois/BC Campus)

Geology

Introduction to Geology (2017, by Chris Johnson, Matthew D. Affolter, Paul Inkenbrandt, and Cam Mosher @ SLCC, CC BY-NC-SA)
Historical Geology by Callan Bentley, Karen Layou, Russ Kohrs, Shelley Jaye, Matthew D. Affolter, and Brian Ricketts (in progress)
The Story of Earth: An Observational Guide (2021, Hauptvogel, CC BY-NC-SA)
Physical Geology, 2e (2021, BCcampus, CC BY)
Geological Structures: a Practical Introduction (2020, Snyder, CC BY-NC)
Geology (Lumen Learning)
Geology (LibreText)
An Introduction to Geology (Salt Lake Community College)
Historical Geology (Open Geology)
Laboratory Manual for Introductory Geology (Galileo)
Physical Geology (Thompson Rivers University/BC Campus)

Minerology

Introduction to Mineralogy (2020, by Dexter Perkins, University of North Dakota, CC BY-NC-SA) (Updated 2022)

Petrology

Introduction to Petrology (2022, by Dexter Perkins, University of North Dakota, CC BY-NC-SA)

Geology: Course Materials

OpenGeology: Free Open Educational Resources for the Geosciences (CC BY-NC-SA)
Geology Online Lab Activities: An Open Educational Resource for Community College Students and Instructors (2022, Davies, CC BY-NC-SA)
Virtual Microscope (2021, CC BY-NC-SA, The Open University)

Health Science: Course Materials

Community Building + Health & Social Equity

Muxeres en Acción: The Power of Community Cultural Wealth in Latinas Organizing for Health Equity. Am J Community Psychol. 2020 Dec;66(3-4):314-324. doi: 10.1002/ajcp.12442. Epub 2020 Jul 3. PMID: 32619299. (Open Access)
Community Engaged Leadership to Advance Health Equity and Build Healthier Communities. Soc Sci (Basel). 2016 Mar;5(1):2. doi: 10.3390/socsci5010002. Epub 2015 Dec 24. PMID: 27713839; PMCID: PMC5048675. (Open Access)
Growing Equity and Health Equity in Perilous Times: Lessons From Community Organizers . Health Educ Behav. 2019 Oct;46(1_suppl):9S-18S. doi: 10.1177/1090198119852995. PMID: 31549555.
Enabling pathways to health equity: developing a framework for implementing social capital in practice. BMC Public Health. 2013 May 29;13:517. PMID: 23714388; PMCID: PMC3671136. (Open Access)

Personal Health

Personal Health (Portland Community College) A course with 17 topic modules that cover a broad range of personal and public health health topics. Each topic has a Google Slides presentation, instructor resources, student resources, topic study guides, an in-class activity, discussion questions, and any other additional OER resources available.

Nutrition

Nutritional Health, Food Production and the Environment (Johns Hopkins University/OER Commons) This course gives an understanding of the complex and challenging public health issue of food security by exploring the connections among diet, the current food and food animal production systems, the environment and public health, and considering factors such as economics, population and equity. Includes case studies and guest lecturers from a variety of disciplines and experiences.

Mathematics: Course Materials

Desmos (Non-commercial use only) A free suite of math software tools, including the renowned Desmos Graphing Calculator and Scientific Calculator.
Khan Academy (CC BY-NC-ND) Khan Academy offers practice exercises, instructional videos, and a personalized learning dashboard that empower learners to study at their own pace in and outside of the classroom.

Mathematics: OER Repositories

American Institute of Mathematics Approved OER Textbooks. All the books have been judged to meet the evaluation criteria set by the AIM editorial board.

Network Engineering Technology: Textbooks

Management

Efficacious Technology Management (Open Textbook Library)

Networks

Computer Networking: Principles, Protocols and Practice (Saylor Foundation/Open Textbook Library)
An Introduction to Computer Networks (Loyola University/Open Textbook Library)

Oceanography: Textbooks

Oceanography

Evolution of Physical Oceanography (Massachusetts Institute of Technology)
Introduction to Ocean Science (Reef Images)
Introduction to Physical Oceanography (Texas A&M/Open Textbook Library)
Our Ocean Planet: Oceanography in the 21st Century (Texas A&M/Free Book Centre)

Physics: Textbooks

Algebra-Based Physics

College Physics 2e (Openstax) NEW
College Physics (OpenStax)
Light and Matter (Fullerton College)

Calculus-Based Physics

Mechanics (Fullerton College)
Simple Nature (Fullerton College)
University Physics, vol. 1 (OpenStax)
University Physics, vol. 2 (OpenStax)
University Physics, vol. 3 (OpenStax)

Conceptual Physics

Intro to Physics (OpenStax, CC BY 4.0)
Conceptual Physics (Crowell) available via Libretexts (CC BY-SA, 2020)
Conceptual Physics (Fullerton College)

General Physics

Motion Mountain: The Free Physics Textbook (Motion Mountain Physikverein/Creative Commons)

Relativity

General Relativity (Fullerton College)
Special Relativity (Fullerton College)

Physics: Course Materials

Quality Through Collaboration: Open Problems and Images for Physics (2022, BCCampus, various licenses) Since 2020 two faculty members in B.C. have been building open mechanics problems with professional-quality images to address this gap in open educational resources (OER). Agnes d’Entremont (associate professor of Teaching, UBC) and Jennifer Kirkey (instructor, Douglas College) have been creating problems in statics and dynamics to populate both an open homework system called WeBWorK and an eventual open textbook.
Wikibooks: Physics Open source collection to a variety of Physics resources.
Instructor's Materials (Fullerton College) Includes instructor guides for textbooks, a lab manual, exercises, discussion questions, quizzes, exams, and answer keys.
Problems in Introductory Physics (Fullerton College) A collection of homework problems for use in an introductory physics course.
ComPADRE Digital Library (American Association of Physics Teachers) A network of free online resource collections supporting faculty, students, and teachers in Physics and Astronomy education.
The Physics Classroom (ComPADRE Digital Library) Collection of physics tutorials that cover all topics typically covered in college level Physics I and Physics II courses. Newton's laws, vectors, momentum, work and energy, rotational motion, optics, relativity, electricity and magnetism are discussed.

Physics: Lab Simulations

Algodoo
Gives users the opportunity to play with physics. Use your own hands and simple drawing tools to design, construct and explore the world of physics.
Astro Simulations
Online implementation of several NAAP simulations from the Columbia University Center for Teaching and Learning.
Chem1 Virtual Textbook
Reference text for general chemistry.
CheMagic
Provides a virtual model kit, chemistry demonstration videos, and liberal arts chemistry essays.
ChemCollective
A collection of virtual labs, scenario-based learning activities, tutorials, and concept tests.
Chemix
Chemix is an online editor for drawing science lab diagrams and school experiment apparatus. The app provides easy sketching for both students and teachers.
ChemReaX
A chemical reaction modeling and simulation app.
ChemSims
Simulations from the National Science Foundation covering solubility, kinetics, atomic interactions, gas laws, equilibrium, acid base, photoelectric effect, and atomic emissions.
Digital Lab Techniques Manual
A series of videos designed to help users prepare for chemistry laboratory class.
GEAS Project Astronomy Laboratory Exercises
Online exercises designed for distance learning. Includes archive of images and spectra as well as video tutorials.

more...
goREACT
Create virtual chemical reactions.
The Habitable Planet: A Systems Approach to Environmental Science
Environmental Science online course text and a coordinated website which includes streamed video programs, five interactive simulations, background on the scientists who created the content and those whose research is documented, a professional development guide, and additional resources.
HTML5 Physics Simulations
Manipulate systems and experiment with climate change, motion, forces, gravity, momentum, energy, and rotation.
Jules Verne Voyager, Jr.
An interactive map developed by UNAVCO where users can add earthquakes, stress axes, volcanoes, or plate boundaries to the entire world or by country.

more...
Mixed Reception
Students use molar mass calculations, the scientific method, and basic knowledge of chemical reactions to solve a murder mystery. Students interview suspects and gather evidence as they solve the case.

more...
NC State Undergraduate Organic Chemistry Teaching Laboratories - S.M.A.R.T. Lab Videos
Student created videos teaching introductory organic chemistry lab techniques.
Nebraska Astronomy Applet Project
Simulations of a wide range of astronomical phenomena, organized into unites of related simulations with readings.

more...
Nuclear Reimagined Virtual Field Trip
Journey to the leading nuclear research facility in the country, Idaho National Laboratory. Step inside a nuclear reactor, explore unexpected careers in nuclear science, and see what the future may hold thanks to advances in nuclear capabilities.
Online Resources for Organic Chemistry
List of URLs to online animations, videos, simulations, & demos compiled by the chem ed and biochem ed communities.

more...
Open Source Physics
Provides curriculum resources that engage students in physics, computation, and computer modeling. Computational physics and computer modeling provide students with new ways to understand, describe, explain, and predict physical phenomena.
oPhysics
A collection of interactive physics simulations.
Physical Geology 101 Lab Study Material
A handful of virtual labs with fillable worksheets and lab reports.
The Physics Aviary
Cross-platform, run-anywhere, programs to help physics students around the world master the big ideas in physics.
The Physics Classroom
Physics simulations, tutorials, and concept builders.
Physics Simulations
Interactive physics simulations.
PlanetMaker
Allows users to create and tweak their own planet using image textures and lighting.
Royal Society of Chemistry Education Resources
Resources to help teach chemistry for primary, secondary, and higher education.
Scilab
Open source software for numerical computation.
SDSS Skyserver Projects
Activities to examine many topics in astronomy including H-R diagrams, spectroscopies, galaxy classification, Hubble's Law, and more.
Teaching Geoscience Online
Geoscience lab activities.
Tutorial Materials and Resources by Professor Gary L. Bertrand
List of simulated experiments, self-tests, and tutorials.
Virtual Chemistry Experiments
A collection of interactive web-based chemistry tutorials.
Virtual Microscope
Allows users to examine and explore minerals and microscopic features of rocks, helping them to develop classification and identification skills without the need for high-cost microscopes and thin section preparation facilities.