- Just Watch
Conducts a search through multiple paid subscription and free (legal) streaming websites. Movies available for free on a specific platform will say "Ads" below the icon. Subscription (paid) platforms such as Netflix are indicated as such with "Subs." Works best if you search by title. Warning, though this is a great site, it may be confusing to students because some videos are free and some are not. Furthermore, it doesn't search through every streaming platform so it may miss a good movie. If you would like help, please contact your friendly librarian!
- AdViews (Duke University Libraries)
"The AdViews digital collection provides access to thousands of historic commercials created for clients or acquired by the D'Arcy Masius Benton & Bowles (DMB&B) advertising agency or its predecessor during the 1950s - 1980s. All of the commercials held in the DMB&B Archives will be digitized, allowing students and researchers access to a wide range of vintage brand advertising from the first four decades of mainstream commercial television."
- American Rhetoric
"Database of and index to 5000+ full text, audio and video versions of public speeches, sermons, legal proceedings, lectures, debates, interviews, other recorded media events, and a declaration or two."
- British Pathé
"British Pathé is considered to be the finest newsreel archive in the world and is a treasure trove of 85,000 films unrivalled in their historical and cultural significance...Who We AreSpanning the years from 1896 to 1978, the collection includes footage from around the globe of major events, famous faces, fashion trends, travel, science and culture."
"Crackle is a free to use [ad supported] video entertainment network featuring full-length movies, TV shows, and original programming. It is available on a wide variety of platforms including connected TVs, mobile devices, set-top boxes, video game consoles and online at Crackle.com."
Free anime! "Crunchyroll, a WarnerMedia company (as part of Otter Media) and the world’s most popular anime brand, connects anime and manga fans in more than 200 countries and territories with 360-degree experiences."
"Folkstreams is a non-profit dedicated to finding, preserving, contextualizing, and showcasing documentary films on American traditional cultures."
Free (ad-supported) feature films, best legal bet for films not found for free anywhere else!
- Internet Archive: Moving Image Archive
"Download or listen to free movies, films, and videos...The Internet Archive, a 501(c)(3) non-profit, is building a digital library of Internet sites and other cultural artifacts in digital form. Like a paper library, we provide free access to researchers, historians, scholars, the print disabled, and the general public. Our mission is to provide Universal Access to All Knowledge."
- Netflix: Educational Documentaries
Netflix has made a select number of its documentaries available to educators via their YouTube channel. Educational resources to accompany these films can be found at https://about.netflix.com/en/news/free-educational-documentaries
- PBS Video
Select videos from PBS, available for free!
- Pluto TV
Ad-supported access to film and television shows.
A subsidiary of Screen Media Ventures, LLC, a great source for independent films.
Point of View (POV) "Independent nonfiction films" on PBS.
Inspirational and/or expert speakers on a variety of topics.
Free ad-supported streaming of movies and TV shows.
- Tubi Kids
Free, ad-supported, films and television shows for children.
- VUDU Movies on Us
"Free movies with limited commercials."