OER Faculty Guide: Finding & Using OER

Programs

• American Justice System 101: Intro to Administration of Justice (Skills Commons) Organization and jurisdiction of local, state and federal law enforcement, judicial and corrections systems, terminology and constitutional limitations of the system.  Includes a Canvas export package, quiz export package and moodle export without quizzes.
• Criminal Justice Collabortory: Introduction to Criminal Justice (Colby Community College) CJ 2012 textbook study comes to life with hands-on analysis of the everyday world.  Includes student projects and videos.

General Economics

• Economics Principles 2.0 (Creative Commons)
• Economics - Theory Through Applications (Open Textbook Library)
• Introduction to Economic Analysis (Open Textbook Library)
• Money and Banking (Open Textbook Library)
• Principles of Economics (University of Minnesota Libraries)
• Principles of Economics, 2nd ed. (OpenStax)
• Theory and Applications of Economics 1.0 (Creative Commons)

International/Global Economics

• Good Corporation, Bad Corporation: Corporate Social Responsibility in the Global Economy (Open SUNY)
• International Economics: Theory and Policy (Open Textbook Library)
• International Trade (Saylor Academy)
• International Trade: Theory and Policy (Open Textbook Library)
• Policy and Theory of International Economics 1.0 (Creative Commons)
• Policy and Theory of International Trade 1.0 (Creative Commons)

Macroeconomics

• Macroeconomics (Lumen Learning)
• Intermediate Macroeconomics (Saylor Academy)
• Macroeconomics Principles 2.0 (Creative Commons)
• Macroeconomics: Theory, Models and Policy (BC Campus)
• Principles of Macroeconomics: Lyryx (BC Campus)
• Principles of Macroeconomics (University of Minnesota Libraries, 1st ed RETIRED, see 2e & 3e)
• Principles of Macroeconomics (Saylor Academy)
• Principles of Macroeconomics, 2nd ed. (OpenStax)
• Theory and Applications of Macroeconomics 1.0 (Creative Commons)

Microeconomics

• Microeconomics (Lumen Learning)
• Intermediate Microeconomics (Saylor Academy)
• Microeconomics Principles 2.0 (Creative Commons)
• Microeconomics: Markets, Methods and Models (Open Textbook Library; 1st ed RETIRED, see 2e & 3e)
• Principles of Microeconomics (Saylor Academy)
• Principles of Microeconomics: Lyryx (BC Campus)
• Principles of Microeconomics, 2nd ed. (OpenStax)
• Principles of Microeconomics: Scarcity and Social Provisioning (Rice University)
• Theory and Applications of Microeconomics 1.0 (Creative Commons)

Statistics

• Beginning Statistics 1.0 (Creative Commons)
• Business Math: A Step-by-Step Handbook (BC Campus)
• Business Statistics (Saylor Academy)
• Collaborative Statistics (Open Textbook Library)
• Introduction to Statistics (Lumen Learning)
• Introductory Business Statistics (OpenStax)
• Introductory Business Statistics (BC Campus)
• Introductory Statistics (OpenStax)

Special Topics

• An Introduction to Cooperation and Mutualism (University of Minnesota/Open Textbook Library)
• The Economics of Food and Agricultural Markets (Open Textbook Library)
• Sustaining the Commons (Open Textbook Library)

ER Supplementary Modules for Principles of Economics Courses 

The following seven modules are user-ready supplements to the Principles of Economics courses. They are linked to the Openstax textbooks but may be added to any course using Canvas. Each module is divided into separate lessons, each available to download individually into a course. For more information contact Amber.Casolari@rcc.edu 

• Income and Wealth Inequality
  Seven lessons introducing a topic that has minimal coverage in many textbooks. 

• Behavioral Economics
  Three lessons on a topic new but important in economic analysis 

• Adding Local Data to Openstax
  Approaches to making the unemployment chapter relevant to students using local data 

• History of Economic Thought
  Nine lessons including resources and assignments on economic thought from classical, Marx, feminist, pluralist, institutional, Keynes, evolutionary, Austrian and neoclassical.  

• Game Theory
  Four lessons on Prisoner's Dilemma, Strict dominance, Iterated Elimination, and Backward Deduction 

• Climate Change
  Eight lessons on an important topic that receives minimal coverage in many textbooks. 

• Integrating CORE Textbook into Principles Courses 
  Chapter by chapter integration of the challenging CORE textbook into the more widely-used Openstax textbook. 

• Our Lives: An Ethnic Studies Primer (2022, Capozzi, Cha, & Johnson, CC BY-NC 4.0) Available in
  • PDF version
  • Pressbooks version 
  • LibreTexts version

  • If you or your students wish to purchase a copy of the book it is available on Lulu for the cost of printing.

• African American History (2020, Skyline, CC BY-NC-SA)
• The American Yawp, edited by Joseph Locke and Ben Wright, Stanford University Press (CC BY 4.0)
• Black Lives Matter Collective Storytelling Project (2021, U WA, CC BY-NC-ND)
• Critical Filipinx American Histories and their Artifacts (2020, U WA, CC BY-NC)
• History in the Making: A History of the People of the United States of America to 1877, University of North Georgia Press Books (CC BY 4.0)
• Intercultural Learning: Critical Preparation for International Student Travel (James Cook University/Open Textbook Library)
• Introduction to Ethnic Studies (LibreTexts, CC BY-NC 4.0)
• Latinxs and Black Lives Matter: Latinx Talk Mini-Reader #1 (2021, U WI-Madison, CC BY-NC-ND)
• Persistence is Resistance: Celebrating 50 Years of Gender, Women & Sexuality Studies (2021, U WA, CC BY-NC)
• Race and Ethnicity LibreTexts (CC BY-NC-SA)
• U.S. History: From Pre-Columbian to the New Millennium by The Independence Hall Association USHistory.org (CC BY 4.0)
• Writing Early American Lives: Gender, Race, Nation, Faith, MIT OpenCourseWare (CC BY-NC-SA)

• EDSITEment! (various CC licenses) EDSITEment provides access to NEH-funded media resources including videos, podcasts, lectures, interactives for the classroom, and film projects.
• Race and Ethnicity in the United States (LibreTexts) Brief readings including short exercises and very good maps and charts.
• Primary Source Collections (Digital Public Library of America/OER Commons). Primary source sets on special topics with brief teaching guides.
  • Early Chinese Immigration to the U.S.
  • The Black Power Movement
  • The American Indian Movement, 1968-1978
  • American Indian Boarding Schools
  • Immigration and Americanization, 1880-1930
  • Japanese American Internment during World War II
  • Mexican Labor and World War II: the Bracero Program
  • The United Farm Workers and the Delano Grape Strike 
• African American Studies (UCI Open) Lecture notes, syllabus and student study guides from UC Irvine Professor Bridget Cooks.

• African American History: the Modern Freedom Struggle (Academic Earth) A series of video lectures by Prof. Claybourne Carson, Stanford University.

• TedTalks (CC BY-NC-ND)

• JSTOR Open Access Journals and eBooks. (various CC licenses)
• Directory of Open Access Journals (DOAJ) (various CC licenses)
• Ecofeminism and Climate Change Ecofeminism and Climate Change publishes peer-reviewed interdisciplinary research articles on the impact of climate change and environmental degradation on women, the relationship between gender and the environment, and the ways in which women and nature have been similarly oppressed, published by Emerald Publishing.
• Ethnic and Racial Studies, a peer-reviewed social science academic journal that publishes scholarly articles and book reviews on anthropology, cultural studies, ethnicity and race, and sociology, published by Taylor & Francis.
• Ethnicity & Health, a peer-reviewed social science academic journal that publishes research exploring race and ethnic public health, medical, epidemiological, sociological, behavioral, psychological, and cultural issues, published by Taylor & Francis.
• The International Journal of Information, Diversity, & Inclusion (IJIDI) presents wide­ ranging and multidisciplinary perspectives on the intersection of equity, social justice, and information. IJIDI is a quarterly, open access, online journal. sponsored by Information & Computer Science Dept. (Library & Information Science Program), University of Hawaiʻi at Mānoa, and Faculty of Information (iSchool), University of Toronto.
• Journal of Ethnic and Migration Studies a peer-reviewed social science academic journal that publishes research on all forms of migration and its consequences, including ethnic conflict, discrimination, racism and policies of integration, published by Taylor & Francis.
• Journal Committed to Social Change on Race and Ethnicity (JCSCORE) An interdisciplinary, peer-reviewed journal published by the National Conference on Race and Ethnicity (NCORE), a production of the University of Oklahoma Outreach.  
• Lateral is the peer-reviewed, open access journal of the Cultural Studies Association.
• SAGE Open is a peer-reviewed, "Gold" open access journal from SAGE that publishes original research and review articles in an interactive, open access format. Articles may span the full spectrum of the social and behavioral sciences and the humanities.

• Calisphere Calisphere provides free access to unique and historically important artifacts for research, teaching, and curious exploration. Discover over two million photographs, documents, letters, artwork, diaries, oral histories, films, advertisements, musical recordings, and more. Visit Calisphere: Ethnic Studies Library. The collections in Calisphere have been digitized and contributed by all ten campuses of the University of California and other important libraries, archives, and museums throughout the state.
• Digital Classroom at NARA (National Archives and Records Administration) Featuring primary-sources documents, classroom activities, and information on professional development for educators. To encourage teachers of students at all levels to use archival documents in the classroom, the Digital Classroom provides materials from the National Archives and methods for teaching with primary sources.
• Digital Public Library of America DPLA connects people to the riches held within America’s libraries, archives, museums, and other cultural heritage institutions. All of the materials found through DPLA—photographs, books, maps, news footage, oral histories, personal letters, museum objects, artwork, government documents, and so much more—are free and immediately available in digital format.
• Films for Action Films For Action is a community-powered learning library for people who want to change the world. Films For Action has cataloged over 1,500 of the best films and videos that can be watched free online. These films address social, environmental, and media-related issues.
• HathiTrust HathiTrust is a partnership of academic & research institutions, offering a collection of millions of titles digitized from libraries around the world.
• The Human Rights Campaign The Human Rights Campaign represents a force of more than 3 million members and supporters nationwide. As the largest national lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgender and queer civil rights organization, HRC envisions a world where LGBTQ people are ensured of their basic equal rights, and can be open, honest and safe at home, at work and in the community.
• Internet Archive: Digital Library Internet Archive is a non-profit library of millions of free books, movies, software, music, websites, and more.
• Movement Advancement Project Founded in 2006, the Movement Advancement Project is an independent think tank that provides rigorous research, insight and analysis that help speed equality for lesbian, gay, bisexual and transgender (LGBT) people. MAP’s work is focused on three primary areas:
• PBS - The Talk: Race in America This two-hour documentary is about the increasingly common conversation taking place in homes and communities across the country between parents of color and their children, especially sons, about how to behave if they are ever stopped by the police.
• Project Gutenberg -Sociology Bookshelf Project Gutenberg's list of Sociology books in the public domain, available freely online. Search topics such as sexual life, communities, and race.
• Race & Ethnicity (Pew Research Center) Pew Research Center is a nonpartisan fact tank that informs the public about the issues, attitudes and trends shaping the world. We conduct public opinion polling, demographic research, content analysis and other data-driven social science research. We do not take policy positions.
• Racial Equity Tools “Racial Equity Tools is designed to support individuals and groups working to achieve racial equity. This site offers tools, research, tips, curricula and ideas for people who want to increase their own understanding and to help those working toward justice at every level – in systems, organizations, communities and the culture at large.” Note that you will need to create a free account to access materials.
• SPLC - Hate and Extremism The SPLC is dedicated to fighting hate and bigotry and to seeking justice for the most vulnerable members of our society. Using litigation, education, and other forms of advocacy, the SPLC works toward the day when the ideals of equal justice and equal opportunity will be a reality.
• Zinn Education Project Free teaching materials on various history lessons from a “people’s history” perspective. Downloads of PDFs are free, but require registration (also no-cost) on the website. Please note these teaching materials are NOT under a Creative Commons license.

• Geoscience teaching resources hosted by Teach the Earth (2021, SERC, CC BY-NC-SA 3.0)
• Science Education Resource Center at Carleton College (SERC) (2021, SERC, CC BY-NC-SA 3.0) The Science Education Resource Center is a grant-funded office at Carleton College, founded to improve education in the Earth sciences and beyond.
• Critical Geospatial Thinking and Applications (Penn State University) An online 10-week course with lessons and assignments designed to familiarize participants with the transcendent issues, themes, concepts, and applications of the discipline of geography.  It explores the fundamentals of applied geography and provides exposure to spatial modeling and quantitative tools of spatial analysis.   
• Open Geography Education (Salt Lake Community College) A website dedicated to providing free or open curriculum and resources to anybody who is interested in the geographic world.  Includes e-textbooks and resources from a wide variety of governmental and non-profit agencies.
• Physical Geography Research Methods (BC Campus) Information and references for sampling, statistics, climatology, hydrology and soil science research methods.
• Virtual Globe and Atlas (Marble) Desktop, mobile and extensible versions.
• Earthworks (Stanford, Not OER but free to access & link to)

• Google Earth Engine (Not OER but free for Educational Use) Google Earth Engine combines a multi-petabyte catalog of satellite imagery and geospatial datasets with planetary-scale analysis capabilities.
• QGIS A Free and Open Source Geographic Information System. Create, edit, visualize, analyze and publish geospatial information on Windows, Mac, Linux, and Android. QGIS has matured into a full-featured desktop GIS platform over the past few years and is a perfect alternative to ArcGIS for those not using Windows, or interested in using Free & Open Source software.'
• >R-GIS R-GIS.net is a non-commercial website and aims to discuss spatial data handling and analysis in R. I provided an introduction to R programming language as well as the materials to learn how to use R for spatial analysis!

• World Historical Gazetteer: linking knowledge about the past via place (CC BY) World Historical Gazetteer (WHG) is providing a collection of content and services that permit world historians, their students, and the general public to do spatial and temporal reasoning and visualization in a data rich environment at global and trans-regional scales.

• African American History and Culture (Lumen Learning, various CC licenses)

• Digital Collections (Library of Congress) A rich trove of primary sources, more than 300 digital collections are available that can be sorted by subject (e.g., American history, world cultures and history), original format (e.g., manuscript, film map) and division (e.g., music, rare books).   They include "Chronicling America," digitized newspapers from every state between 1789-1963, "Ansel Adam's Photographs of Japanese-American Internment at Manzanar," and the "Abdul Hamid II Collection," from a sultan of the Ottoman Empire, among many others.

• Discover Black history with Artstor and JSTOR collections (Various CC & © licenses) We have consolidated a list of varied resources available on the Artstor/JSTOR platforms, from licensed collections to freely available community generated collections. We invite you to explore the resources – historic chronicles from manuscripts, newspapers, documents and recordings, the story of African American art told by the works themselves, photographic archives portraying the lives of celebrated African Americans and those we no longer know.

• EDSITEment! (various CC licenses) EDSITEment provides access to NEH-funded media resources including videos, podcasts, lectures, interactives for the classroom, and film projects.

• JSTOR – History Journal Collection (various licenses - OneLogin authentication required for Skyline Library collection access)

• History of Western Civilization II (n.d., SUNY OER Services, Various licenses)

• National Archives (National Archives and Records Administration) When we ask students to work with and learn from primary sources, we transform them into historians. Rather than passively receiving information from a teacher or textbook, students engage in the activities of historians — making sense of the stories, events and ideas of the past through document analysis

• U.S. History Instructor Resources (2022, OpenStax, CC BY)

• Smithsonian National Museum of American History (various CC Licensed and Public Domain resources)
  • Latino History
  • Restorative History
  • Women's History

• Umbra Search African American History makes African American history more broadly accessible through a freely available widget and search tool, umbrasearch.org; digitization of African American materials across University of Minnesota collections; and support of students, educators, artists, and the public through residencies, workshops, and events locally and around the country.

Introduction to Paralegal Studies

Legal Citation

• The Indigo Book: A Manual of Legal Citation (2016, NYU, CC0)

Legal Research

• Introduction to Basic Legal Citation (Cornell Law School/Open Textbook Library)
• Sources of American Law: An Introduction to Legal Research (Open Textbook Library)
• What Color is Your C.F.R.? (Open Textbook Library)

Business Law

• Fundamentals of Business Law (CC Denver, 2020, CC BY) 
• Business Law I Essentials (OpenStax, 2019, CC BY)

Criminal Law

• Criminal Law (UMN, 2015, CC BY-NC-SA)

• Argument Diagramming (Carnegie Mellon University)

  This course is an introduction to exploring and understanding arguments by explaining what the parts of an argument are, how to break arguments into their parts and how to create diagrams to show how those parts relate to each other.
• Logic and Proofs (Carnegie Mellon University)

  Recognizing the correctness or incorrectness of steps is crucial to evaluate arguments critically. This skill is honed by working in two virtual labs:  ProofLab, where one learns to construct complex arguments in a strategically guided way, and TruthLab, where the emphasis is on finding counterexamples systematically..
• Moral and Political Philosophy (Saylor Academy)

  This course will introduce you to the basic concepts and methods of moral and political philosophy. Its primary focus is on the development of moral reasoning skills and the application of those skills to contemporary social and political issues.
• Environmental Ethics, Justice and World Views (Saylor Academy)

  This course introduces the concept of environmental ethics, a philosophy that extends the ethical concepts traditionally applied to human behavior to address the entire natural world. The course outlines the history of environmental ethics, discusses the idea of environmental justice, and explores how our views about the natural world have changed over time.

American Government

• Basics of American Politics (2021, Tidewater CC, CC BY)
• American Government and Politics in the Information Age (2021, University of Minnesota/Open Textbook Library, CC BY-NC-SA)
• American Government (2e – Second Edition) (2019, Openstax & Lumen, CC BY)
• 21st Century American Government and Politics (Creative Commons)
• American Government (Florida Atlantic University)
• American Government (OpenStax)
• Elections USA: In Brief Series (IIP Publications)

International Relations

• International Relations (2022, Raskin/SKY, CC BY-SA)
• International Rela​tions (2017, McGlinchey, CC BY-NC 4.0)
• International Relations Theory (2017, McGlinchey, CC BY-NC 4.0)

Political Science

• Basics of American Politics (2021, Tidewater CC/Lumen, CC BY)
• A Primer on Politics (Creative Commons)

Research

• Quantitative Research Methods for Political Science, Public Policy and Public Administration, 3rd ed. (University of Oklahoma/Open Textbook Library)

• American Government (Lumen Learning)

  This course teaches the origins and key functions of the American government. Topics include the Constitution; federalism; civil rights and liberties; the legislative, executive and judicial branches of government; political culture and public opinion; media and politics; political parties and interest groups; elections; and public policy. 
• American Government (Saylor Academy)

  This course goes beyond a general understanding of civics to incorporate the core concepts of the American system of government, the workings of its myriad of actors and agencies, the key components of "politics” in the American system, and how American government shapes and influences the individual freedoms and rights of its citizens. 
• Introduction to Political Science (Saylor Academy)

  A survey course that introduces the student to the discipline's concepts, terminology, and methods and explores instances of applied political science through real world examples. 

• Introduction to Psychology (Lumen Learning) A template course developed for the Virginia Community College System based on the OpenStax Psychology textbook as well as other OER resources.
• Noba Project (Diener Education Fund/Creative Commons) Noba is a free online platform that allows teachers to use, adapt or create high-quality, flexibly structured psychology textbooks and educational materials.

• OpenStax Psychology 2e Video Guide
• Introduction to Psychology (University of Saskatchewan)

• Introduction to Sociology 3e Instructor Resources (2021, Openstax, CC BY)
• Introduction to Sociology (Saylor Academy) This course is an introduction to a range of basic sociological principles as well as the origins of sociology as a discipline and major sociological theories and methods of research.  The course tries to develop a "sociological imagination" by relating the topics and theories to one's life experiences.

• JSTOR Open Access. Search thousands of free journal articles and open access book chapters.
  • Open Access Journals on JSTOR
• Sociological Science A general interest, open access sociology journal committed to the highest standards of rigor and relevance. We aim to be the flagship journal for social scientists committed to advancing a general understanding of social processes.

• SmartHistory (SmartHistory, ​CC BY-NC-SA) Smarthistory’s free, award-winning digital content, including images, videos, and essays, unlocks the expertise of hundreds of leading scholars, making the history of art accessible and engaging to more people, in more places, than any other publisher.

• Visual Arts See "Courses" on Art Appreciation and Art History (List compiled by BC Campus, 2020)

• Art & Life in Africa website, hosted by the University of Iowa Stanley Museum of Art (UISMA), is a freely accessible educational resource that is the product of the collaborative efforts of more than fifty scholars, technicians, collectors and institutions around the world.

• Art History Teaching Resources (SUNY, CC BY-NC) A constantly evolving and collectively authored online repository of art history teaching content including, but not limited to, lesson plans, video introductions to museums, book reviews, image clusters, and classroom and museum activities.

• Art Appreciation (Cascadia Community College) An open source self-paced course on Canvas by Christopher Gildow, MFA

• Looking at, Describing and Identifying Objects(OpenLearn) Introductory short course.

• Introduction to the History of Modern Art (CUNY/Lehman College)

• Making Sense of Art History (Open University)  Introductory free short course.

• Visions of Protest: Graffiti (OpenLearn) Introductory free short course.

• Art & Visual Culture: Medieval to Modern (Open University) Introductory free short course

• Art History on Khan Academy (Khan Academy) Online art history course, from prehistoric to modern art.

African American Art History

• The Bright Continent: African Art History (CC BY-NC-SA, 2018, Kathy Curnow for CSU)

Art History

• Western Art from 18th to Mid-20th Century (Taylor) (CC BY-SA, LibreTexts, 2020)
• Ancient History Encyclopedia (Ancient History Encyclopedia Foundation, CC BY-NC-SA)
• Art history I (SUNY/Lumen, Various licenses)
• Art History II (SUNY/Lumen, Various licenses)
• Boundless Art History (Lumen Learning, Various licenses)
• Bright Continent: African Art History(Kathy Curnow, CC BY-NC-SA)

Introduction to Art/Art Appreciation

• Introduction to Art: Design, Context, and Meaning (OpenTextbook Library, CC BY-SA)
• Art Appreciation (Lumen Learning, Various licenses)
• A World Perspective of Art Appreciation (Gustlin and Gustlin) (CC BY, LibreTexts, 2020)

• Art History Pedagogy & Practice (Art History Teaching Resources & CUNY) Peer-reviewed open access e-journal devoted to scholarship of teaching and learning in art history.

• Los Angeles County Museum of Art (LACMA) Enter keywords in the “Search the Collection” box. On the results page, put a checkmark in the box for “Show only results with unrestricted images” to see images that are freely available to use (under public domain). For more information on using this site, see the LACMA blog Unframed.

• The Met’s Open Images
. “[A]ll images of public-domain works in The Met collection are available under Creative Commons Zero (CC0). So whether you’re an artist or a designer, an educator or a student, a professional or a hobbyist, you now have more than 375,000 images of artworks from our collection to use, share, and remix—without restriction.”

• National Gallery of Art Images. Images of art in the National Gallery, available at no cost.

• The Met’s Timeline of Art History. This timeline “pairs essays and works of art with chronologies, telling the story of art and global culture through the Museum’s collection.”

• Rijksmuseum Online Image Catalog. 643 images of artworks from the Rijksmuseum collections, searchable and available for free and unrestricted use.

• Smithsonian Open Access (SI, Public Domain and CC0). You can explore and reuse millions of digital items from the Smithsonian’s collections (2.8 million at February 2020 launch). We have released these images and data into the public domain as Creative Commons Zero (CC0), meaning you can use, transform, and share our open access assets without asking permission from the Smithsonian.

• Library of Congress: Free to Use and Reuse Sets (LOC, Public Domain)

Sewing

• Stitched (2021, KPU, CC BY-SA 4.0)

Filmmaking

• Moving Pictures: an introduction to cinema (CC BY-NC-SA, 2020)
• Exploring Movie Construction & Production: What's So Exciting about Movies? (Genesee Community College/Open Textbook Library, CC BY-NC-SA)
• Film | Video New Media Teaching Resources (Jennifer Proctor, CC BY-NC-SA)
• OER | Film & Video (OER Commons)

• Free Music Archive (FMA) (Carious CC licenses) Download royalty-free music
• Understanding Basic Music Theory Short introductory course covering "the bare essentials." 
• Sound Reasoning: A New Way to Listen (OpenStax). Designed to help students listen, this course by Prof. Anthony Brandt encourages students to be self-reliant--to get up close to the music, without mediation or interference.
• YouTube: Music Appreciation (Creative Commons Licensed Videos)
• YouTube: Music Composition (Creative Commons Licensed Videos)
• YouTube: Music Theory (Creative Commons Licensed Videos)
• Pressbooks Directory: Music (Creative Commons Licensed Textbooks)
• The Open Textbook Library: Music (Creative Commons Licensed Textbooks)

Ansel Adam's Photographs of Japanese Internment at Manzanar,1943 (OER/Library of Congress)

An online photograph collection including solid biographical material and useful historical information from the Library of Congress Manzanar War Relocation Center Photograph collection in the public domain.

Teaching Visual Literacy Skills in a One-Shot Session, 2015 (VRA Bulletin)

A detailed article offering teaching methodology and resources for doing so by Molly Schoen, University of Michigan.

• Remote Capture: Digitizing Documentary Heritage in Challenging Locations (2018, CC BY)
• Visual Literacy: Applying Information Literacy to Visual Materials A detailed chapter including exercises for students, definitions and discussions, from The Information Literacy Users Guide, an Open Online Textbook.

Library of Congress Prints and Photographs Online Catalog (Library of Congress)

A searchable database of images from the Library of Congress, now in the public domain.