Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Finding Articles: Databases
Library Article Databases are collections of articles from magazines, academic/scholarly journals, newspapers, e-books and more, that can be searched from one site. Libraries subscribe to article databases.
The most efficient way to find a full text (entire) article versus a summary or abstract, is to use an article database.
Article databases include articles from a variety of journals and magazines. Type in a few keywords to see what kinds of articles you find.
Working from off campus? Enter your library card number (on the back of your library card) and PIN number (the last four numbers of your phone number) to access these databases.
Stop by the Library reference desk or call (738-4312) if you have any trouble!
Three recommended Article Databases for ECE
- Academic Search Complete (EBSCO) * Full-text articles from leading journals. Coverage is multi-disciplinary and includes full text for more than 3,700 peer-reviewed titles; searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,000 titles. Updated daily. 1975 - present.
- ERIC - Education Resources Information Center (EBSCO) * Provides access to education journal articles and resources. The database contains more than 1.3 million records and provides access to information from journals included in the Current Index of Journals in Education and Resources in Education Index, dating back to 1966.
- Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collection (EBSCO) *Provides information concerning topics in emotional and behavioral characteristics, psychiatry & psychology, mental processes, anthropology, and observational & experimental methods; offering full text coverage for nearly 560 journals.
Tip #1: When searching for articles in a database, choose keywords instead of typing in a sentence or question.
Tip #2: When developing keywords, identify main ideas, synonyms, and broader, narrower, or related terms.
Online Research: Tips for Effective (Search) Strategies: This three minute video describes three important search tips that will save you precious time.
Additional Databases for Early Childhood Education
Try these additional databases, too:
YC Young Children
Young Children is a peer-reviewed, professional journal published bimonthly by the National Association for the Education of Young Children (NAEYC); issues are organized around "cluster" topics and issues in the field of early childhood education.