Can you spare 2 minutes and 30 seconds?
Here's a short video from Yavapai College that explains "What are Databases and Why we Need them"
Not sure where to start?
You can ask a Skyline College librarian for help accessing newspaper articles from other databases as well. (Unfortunately, you cannot search these on your own as a high school student).
Examples include:
Current and archived information from thousands of newspaper titles, as well as newswires, web editions, blogs, videos, broadcast transcripts, business journals, periodicals, government documents and other publications.
You can use your school log in information to access the Gale E-Books database. In additional to encyclopedia articles, it also includes complete (full text) e-books and peer reviewed journal articles.
You can access the GALE databases below by logging in here.
Biography In Context
Biographies and related full-text articles from hundreds of magazines and newspapers, as well as tens of thousands of images and links to websites. Search for people-- both current and historic from all eras and fields-- based on name, occupation, nationality, ethnicity, birth/death dates and places, or gender, as well as keyword and full text.
Gale E-Books
Database of encyclopedias and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research. Because each library creates its own eBook collection, the content you see may vary if you use the database at different libraries (your school, your public library, or your office).
U.S. History in Context
Contains "information on hundreds of the most significant people, events and topics in U.S. History."
World History in Context
Contains "information on hundreds of the most significant people, events and topics in World History."
JSTOR: This is an excellent database for finding in-depth academic journal articles on all historical topics except: recent history and articles published within the last 3 – 5 years. The complete JSTOR database is made up of numerous "collections."
You can access these collections for free. (You'll be prompted to create a free account).
Looking for newspaper sources?
Sign up for a pass for a free digital subscription to the New York Times by following these steps:
Once you've subscribed and signed in, you can access the Historical New York Times Archives here: