Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

History Research: *Articles / Databases*

Skyline College Library Databases

OneSearch (To log into our databases off-campus you'll need to use your email or Canvas login.)

Search most of Skyline Library's article databases and book catalog to find a wide range of articles from academic journals, popular magazines, newspapers and reference sources, e-books & other documents, plus print books available in the library.

Click on the link above to open a new database window

To search for more than one "concept", click on Advanced Search below the Search box.

In each search box, type the search word(s) for a separate concept.
-  Type an OR between synonymous words for the same concept.
-  Use an * to search for multiple words from the same root, e.g. achieve* will find articles with the words: achieve, achieved, or achievement 
-  Use quote marks (“ ”) around search phrases (multiple words that should be searched together), e.g. “higher education”

 

Individual databases below are all included in OneSearch:

U.S. History in Context and World History in Context (library card number required from off-campus)
Reference articles, primary documents, magazine, journal and newspaper articles, maps and images covering all aspects of U.S. and 20th-century world history. Best for general/background history information, especially articles under the “Reference” category. To search both databases at once, select "" under the search box in either database.

  • Enter search word(s) and click the Search button
  • At results page, articles are organized by type -- "Reference" (articles from reference books), "Academic journals", "Primary Sources", "Images", “News” & more.
  • Click on the title of an article to display the full text of the article..
    Click here for information on how to tell whether an article is from an academic journal or a popular magazine.
  • Click on the title of an article to display the full text of the article.
  • You can email or print any article by using the appropriate buttons at the top right of each article (Under “Tools”.)


America: History & Life with Full Text
 (library card number required from off-campus) info
Current and back issues of academic history journals. Best for in-depth academic journal articles on all historical topics

 

JSTOR - Scholarly journals archives (library card number required from off-campus)
Back issues of important academic journals, including many historical journals (no current issues) going back to 1838.
Excellent for in-depth academic journal articles on all historical topics except: recent history and articles published within the last 3 – 5 years

  • For a basic/general search, enter search words & click Search
  • To search for a specific topic, click on Advanced Search, and then enter search words for multiple concepts in the separate search boxes
  • To search for exact phrases, put quote marks around the phrase, e.g. “Thomas Jefferson” or “freedom of the press”
  • To limit your search to regular journal articles (as opposed to book reviews or editorials), click in the “Article” check box under “Limit by
  • If too many articles are found, click on "Modify Search", add additional search words & search again
  • To email, print or save an article:
    • Click on “PDF” (at the upper right of the page)
    • A new window with “JSTOR's Terms and Conditions” will be displayed; click on OK
      [If your browser blocks pop-ups, you need to hold down the CTRL key while clicking on “OK”]
    • When the pdf image file is displayed, click on the “Email”, “Print” or “Save a Copy” icons (on the pdf task bar at the top of the page)*
    • To email the full article, click on “Send Copy”, then enter e-mail address in "To:" entry box and click "Send"*
      *
      pdf functions vary according to the specific software setup for different computers
  • For more help in how to search the JSTOR database, see the JSTOR Search Help page

 

Gale PowerSearch databases (library card number required from off-campus)
Articles from academic journals, popular magazines, newspapers and books; excellent set of general periodical databases.
Best for articles on recent historical topics (within the last 10 - 20 years)

o To search for a specific topic, click on the Advanced search mode to search for multiple concepts.

o To limit searches to academic journal articles, click in the check box: “to peer-reviewed publicationsunder “Limit results:”

o PLEASE NOTE: When search results are first displayed, only magazine articles are shown, if available for your search.
Click on the “Academic Journals” tab to display journal articles, click on "News" to display news articles; click on "Books" to display book articles.


Links to History Journal websites
: Links to peer-reviewed English-language journals that publish in all fields of history, from the American Historical Association


Country information:

- CountryWatch (library card number required from off-campus)
  
Political, economic, business and historical information on any country.

Gale Virtual Reference Library Sources (subject encyclopedias) (library card number required from off-campus)
- Arts and Humanities Through the Eras
- Early Civilizations in the Americas

- Encyclopedia of Multicultural America
- U.S. Immigration and Migration Reference Library
- U*X*L American Decades

 

Gale Biography Resource Center
Database of biographical articles on famous people.



Newspapers Archives
(primary sources):

Historical N.Y. Times (library card number required from off-campus)
Full-text of all N.Y. Times articles from 1851-2009.

Historical San Francisco Chronicle (1865-1922) (library card number required from off-campus)
Full-text of all S.F. Chronicle articles from 1865-1922

California Digital Newspaper Collection
Full-text (digitized) of over 30 California newspapers from 1846 to the present

Chronicling America: Searchable database of U.S. newspapers with descriptive information and select digitization of historic pages. A partnership between the National Endowment for the Humanities (NEH) and the Library of Congress (LC).

Google Advanced News Archive Search
Historical news archives.
For free results only, in “Price” pull-down menu, select “no price”. info

CQ Historic Documents (library card number required from off-campus)
Database of over 3200 full-text documents covering the most significant events of each year from 1972 to the present. These documents range from presidential speeches, international agreements, and Supreme Court decisions to U.S. governmental reports, scientific findings, and cultural discussions.

 

 

 

Additional Resources

Google Scholar
Google’s academic search engine
accesses a wide range of academic articles, books and court opinions. Use the search box below to search Google Scholar.

Google Scholar


Many of the articles only provide abstracts (summaries) of articles, not the full-text (or a significant charge is required for the full article). You can retrieve the full-text of most of these articles by using the Skyline College Library .

To search for multiple concepts, use ORs between words for the same concept, quotes around phrases, parentheses around each concept, and ANDs between concepts

 

 

California Digital Newspaper Collection
Full-text (digitized) of over 30 California newspapers from 1846 to the present

Google Advanced News Archive Search
Historical news archives.
For free results only, in “Price” pull-down menu, select “no price”. info