Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
The American Presidency Project:
Historical and current information on US presidencies. Provides a searchable database of more than 85,000 documents, such as speeches, official papers, executive orders, proclamations, news conferences and press briefings.
The American Revolution--H-Net Liberty!: The American Revolution--PBS
These two sites are companion sites to the 1997 PBS documentary Liberty!: The American Revolution. "Chronicle of the Revolution" contains significant successes and setbacks in the revolution, as well as a bibliography, time line, index of varied related subjects, and collection of annotated links.
A Biography of America:
This public television telecourse, video series, and Web site explores United States history via 26 topics, each including interactive maps, key events, transcripts of the series, and Web links. Searchable.
Chronicling America: Historic American Newspapers
This website serves as a comprehensive resource for information on newspapers published in the United States from 1690 to the present. Its digital content comprises more than 680,000 individual newspaper page images drawn from close to 100 newspapers published in California, the District of Columbia, Florida, Kentucky, Minnesota, Nebraska, New York, Texas, Utah, and Virginia, between 1880 and 1910. From the Library of Congress and NEH.
Digital Public Library of America (DPLA)
The DPLA brings together digitized resources that include books, images, historic records, and audiovisual materials from many collections produced by universities, public libraries, and other public-spirited organizations.
Documents For The Study Of American History
Important documents in U.S. history from 800 to the present.
In Motion: The African-American Migration Experience
This extensive, well-designed website features images, essays, lesson plans, and maps all focused on the movements of African Americans from the 1400s to the present. The site is built around the history of 13 African American migration experiences: the transatlantic slave trade (1450s-1867), runaway journeys (1630s-1865), the domestic slave trade (1760s-1865), colonization and emigration (1783–1910s), Haitian Immigration (1791–1809), Western migration (1840s-1970), Northern migration (1840s- 1890), the Great Migration (1916–1930), the Second Great Migration (1940–1970), Caribbean immigration (1900-present), the return South migration (1970-present), Haitian immigration in the 20th century (1970-present), and African immigration (1970-present). From the Schomburg Center for Research in Black Culture.
U.S. history survey class and gateway to web resources, offers other useful materials for teaching U.S. history.
Making of America
Collection of late-nineteenth-century American books and journals covering social history from the antebellum period through reconstruction. The collection is particularly strong in the subject areas of education, psychology, American history, sociology, religion, and science and technology. The collection currently contains approximately 8,500 books and 50,000 journal articles. From the University of Michigan Digital Library Initiative.
The Papers of Benjamin Franklin
The Papers of Benjamin Franklin is an online companion site to the American Philosophical Society's outstanding print series of the same name. The project's goal is to "collect, edit, and publish" everything written by and to Franklin over the course of his life.
This companion website, created and maintained by the Packard Humanities Institute, currently includes 37 of the 40 volumes published in print to date as well as nine sections of "unpublished" documents from 1782-1792. Online coverage begins with Franklin's birth on January 6, 1706, and currently ends with 1792, two years after Franklin's death. Each section covers a year or a few years, and the documents included within each are organized chronologically. -- Choice Reviews Online
Voyages: The Transatlantic Slave Trade Database:
This visually rich and authoritative website provides information on the slave trade that spanned five continents. Offers maps, images, timelines, tables, essays, bibliographies, a database of African names, and more. Sponsored by Emory University and the National Endowment for the Humanities.
U.S. National Historic Landmarks
U.S. National Historic Landmarks Search
Search for information on National Historic Landmarks by name or location. National Historic Landmarks (NHLs) are exceptional places that form a common bond between all Americans. NHLs can be found in our national parks and in communities in every state and territory. Through the National Historic Landmarks Program, the National Park Service oversees the designation of these special places and helps to preserve them.
History of the American South
Behind the Veil: Documenting African American life in the Jim Crow South
"Covering the 1890s to the 1950s, and including one of the worst periods in American history: the Jim Crow era. Part of the Duke University Libraries' Digital Collections, Behind the Veil features the oral histories of African Americans who lived in many parts of the southern United States. More than 400 digitized interviews are available from a collection of 1,260 oral histories conducted mainly from 1993 to 1995; included are transcripts for 165 interviews, printable as PDFs."--Choice Reviews Online.
Documenting the American South
Thematic collections of books, diaries, posters, artifacts, letters, oral history interviews, and songs including "North American Slave Narratives", "First-Person Narratives of the American South" & "The Church in the Southern Black Community" and more.
First-Person Narratives of the American South, 1860-1920:
Diaries, autobiographies, memoirs, travel accounts, and ex-slave narratives, including not only prominent individuals, but also of relatively inaccessible populations: women, African Americans, enlisted men, laborers, and Native Americans.
Wars involving the United States