Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Recommended Web sites for Background Information on Countries
Basic information on countries of the world compiled by the State Department Staff.
BBC News Country Profiles
Overview of recent history with chronological time line and the current political situation of each country. Provides basic facts such as main exports and religious affiliation plus free news articles published by BBC.
"The Country Studies Series presents a description and analysis of the historical setting and the social, economic, political, and national security systems and institutions of countries throughout the world." A continuing series of online books prepared by the Federal Research Division of the Library of Congress under the Country Studies/Area Handbook Program sponsored by the Department of the Army.
Global Gateway: World Culture and Resources from Library of Congress
Portals to the World -- Provide electronic resources on the nations of the world selected by Library of Congress subject experts.
Research Guides and Databases http://www.loc.gov/rr/international/spguides.html
The World Factbook
Basic country information from the World Factbook.
Countries of the World
Check cummulative statistical information from the USA CIA World Factbooks the United Nations Statistical Office, The Library of Congress Country Studies and other sources.
Ukraine & Russia Conflict
Ukraine & Russia features important information on the ongoing conflict between Russia and Ukraine throughout world history..
Other Web Resources
Use Google to search for relevant websites:
World Leaders :All Foreign Governments
"The CIA publishes and updates the online directory of Chiefs of State and Cabinet Members of Foreign Governments regularly. The directory is intended to be used primarily as a reference aid and includes as many governments of the world as is considered practical, some of them not officially recognized by the United States."
Indexes to Official Records and Other Proceedings
The United Nations
Unofficial summaries of meetings. Searchable by U.N. document number and by keyword.
Military and Armament Information