Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

International Relations: Articles

JSTOR

JSTOR - Scholarly journals archives * On campus or off-campus w/ library card
Back issues of important academic journals, including many historical journals (no current issues) going back to 1838. Excellent for in-depth academic journal articles on all historical topics except: recent history and articles published within the last 3 – 5 years.

Google Scholar

Google’s academic search engine accesses a wide range of academic articles, theses, books, abstracts and court opinions, from academic publishers, professional societies, online repositories, and universities. The majority of sources retrieved by Google Scholar are usually abstracts (summaries) of articles, which do not provide the full-text of the article (or a significant charge is required for the full article). 

Try the following search in Google Scholar: 

drought OR "water shortage" "food supply" OR "food production"

Google Scholar Search

Searching Databases with Ebooks, Journal and Magazine Articles

 (To log into our databases off-campus you'll need to use your email or Canvas login.)
Click on the OneSearch icon for the search entry box  page to find a wide range of articles from academic journals, popular magazines, newspapers and reference sources, e-books & other documents, plus print books available in the library.

  • Click the “Search” icon  to begin a search.
  • To search for more than one "concept", click on Advanced Search next to the Search box in next page.
  • In the first search box, type the search word(s) for the first concept related to your topic. Type an OR between synonymous words for the same concept, e.g. paleo OR caveman. Use an * to search for multiple words from the same root, e.g. paleo* will find articles with the words: paleo or paleodiet. Use quote marks (“ ”) around search phrases (multiple words that should be searched together), e.g. “child development.”
  • In the second search box, type the search word(s) for the second concept related to your topic.
  • Click on the menu dropdown arrow next to "Keyword" on the right of the search boxes and select "SU (Subject)."
  • When the results page is displayed, click on an article title to see detailed information and a summary of the article.
     
     
     

News Databases

Click on the links to find newspaper articles in the EBSCOhost databases and Nexis Uni.

EBSCOhost Newspaper Source Plus - on or off campus w/ library card
860 full-text newspapers, providing more than 35 million full-text articles. In addition, the database features more than 857,000 television and radio news transcripts. 

 

Other free online databases

Country Information

History Databases

Use the following databases to find a wide range of articles (and other documents) from academic journals, popular magazines, reference sources, e-books & other sources.
On campus or off-campus w/ library card


America: History & Life with Full Text (EBSCO) *
Covers the history and culture of the United States and Canada, from prehistory to the present. America: History & Life with Full Text also provides full-text coverage of more than 200 journals and nearly 100 books.
U.S. History in Context (Gale) *
Contains "information on hundreds of the most significant people, events and topics in U.S. History." More info.

World History in Context (Gale) *
Contains "information on hundreds of the most significant people, events and topics in World History." More info.