Skip to main content

StudentCam Research Project: Research Resources

LibGuide Created for Middle College Government class at Skyline College

Links

WWW Sites

SEARCHABLE CURRENT EVENTS AND NEWS SITES

DATA SOURCES
GOVERNMENT INFORMATION

Databases

Databases:

OneSearch (To log into our databases off-campus you'll need to use your email or Canvas login.)
Search most of Skyline Library's article databases and book catalog to find a wide range of articles from academic journals, popular magazines, newspapers and reference sources, e-books & other documents, plus print books available in the library.

 

Opposing Viewpoints In Context (Gale) *
Features viewpoint articles, topic overviews, full-text magazine, academic journal, and newspaper articles, primary source documents, statistics, images and podcasts, and links to Websites.

 

CQ Researcher (PLS library card bar code number required from off campus)
Database of in-depth, authoritative reports on a full range of political and social-policy issues extending back to 1923.


Newspaper Source Plus (EBSCO) *

860 full-text newspapers, providing more than 35 million full-text articles. In addition, the database features more than 857,000 television and radio news transcripts.

 

Student Resources in Context (Gale) *
Provides holistic topic perspectives by integrating a multitude of content, including reference articles from acclaimed publications like American Decades; periodical and newspaper articles from the New York TimesUSA Today, and many others; primary sources; Multimedia records, including charts, graphs, maps and tables; video and audio content from NBC, NPR and many other respected sources