Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

LGBTQ+ Studies: SF Bay Area: Articles

How to Search Skyline College Library Databases

Before searching for articles on a topic, you should prepare for your search by:

  • developing a clear, specific research topic or research question, and
  • dividing the research topic in "concepts" (different subtopics or elements)

For example, a specific research question might be:

What is the effect of recent legislation on the rights of transgender students?

This research question can be divided into "concepts":

1. law* OR legislation OR legal*

2. rights OR "civil rights" OR "human rights" OR justice

3. transgender*

4. student*

Now you're ready to combine all your concepts in OneSearch:

OneSearch (To log into our databases off-campus you'll need to use your email or Canvas login.)

Search most of Skyline Library's article databases and book catalog to find a wide range of articles from academic journals, popular magazines, newspapers and reference sources, e-books & other documents, plus print books available in the library.

 

Click on the link above to open a new database window

To search for more than one "concept", click on Advanced Search below the Search box.

In each search box, type the search word(s) for a separate concept.
Type an OR between synonymous words for the same concept.
Use an * to search for multiple words from the same root, e.g. legal* will find articles with the words: legal, legalize, legally
Use quote marks (“ ”) around search phrases (multiple words that should be searched together), e.g.
“human rights”

For example:

law* OR legislation OR legal* 

rights OR "civil rights" OR "human rights" OR justice

Recommended Library Databases for Research

Gender Studies 

Provides balanced coverage of this significant aspect of culture and society. This database includes topics related to gender studies, family and marital issues, and more.

JSTOR 
Back issues of important academic journals, including many historical journals (no current issues) going back to 1838. Best for in-depth academic journal articles on all historical topics except recent history and articles published within the last 3 – 5 years.

 

Opposing Viewpoints in Context

Database of viewpoint articles, topic overviews, statistics, primary documents, links to websites, and full-text magazine and newspaper articles on social issues.

  • Click on the list (at right) of many social issues to choose from or search for a specific topic not on the list.
  • After clicking on a social issue or doing a search, you will see links to "Viewpoint essays" on that issue.
  • Additional documents on the issue-- including Reference articles, Statistics, Magazine articles, Primary documents and more-- are available by clicking on the appropriate tabs at the top of the page.

Google Scholar

You can search Google Scholar for scholarly articles:

For example: 

law* OR legislation OR legal* rights OR "civil rights" OR "human rights" OR justice transgender* student* 

About Google Scholar:

  • Google’s academic search engine accesses a wide range of academic articles, theses, books, abstracts and court opinions, from academic publishers, professional societies, online repositories, and universities. 
  • The majority of sources retrieved by Google Scholar are usually abstracts (summaries) of articles, which do not provide the full-text of the article (or a significant charge is required for the full article).
Google Scholar Search