Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Information Literacy Tutorial

This Section

Research is a documented conversation.  To ensure that we present our research honestly and with integrity, we use citations to show what sources lay behind our information and conclusions.  We can use citations in other people's work to follow academic conversations, trace its history, and evaluate its relevance.

Watch the videos & read the text in this section for more information about citing sources.

Then complete your annotated bibliography assignment.

Citing Sources - A brief Introduction

Why Cite?

  •  Cite to avoid Plagiarism
  • Citing allows the reader to track down your resources easily and verify your resources.
  • Citing makes your work more credible if you are using verified sources.
  • Citing allows you to join the conversation about your topic in the academic community by providing paths to converging ideas.

 

Citing Basics

Be sure to write, copy or save as much information as you can while you are first looking at a source in case you need to view it again.  Not sure where to start?  Some good choices include:

         1.  Author or editor
         2.  Title of the book, OR the article AND the journal title
         3.  Publisher
         4.  Place of publication for a book OR Volume and issue number of the journal or magazine
         5.  Date of publication
         6.  URL and/or the database name
         7.  The date you accessed an electronic document

If you have the relevant information listed above you will be able to create your bibliography. Saving this information will generally allow you to put together your reference page at the end of your paper in any format needed. When looking at a source, such as a book or a magazine article, save enough information so that you can find the material again.  Noting the information above for any material you use will allow you to find it again AND cite it.

Many databases and some websites often provide citation information formatted that you can either save or email to yourself.

In addition, you can use citation generators to help you construct your citations lists.

Selected Citation generators:

OWL Guides listed below give formulas and examples of how to cite different sources in your works cited list (reference list).

Annotated Bibliography Assignment

This assignment asks you to bring together all you learned from the 4 sections of this tutorial to complete an annotated bibliography. 

 You may use one of our topics to complete your assignment or if you are currently working on a research project or paper for a class, please use that topic to complete your bibliography. 

Once you complete your assignment, a librarian will review your annotated bibliography and offer feedback.  Complete all sections of the assignment successfully to pass this tutorial.  

Please download this document, fill it out completely and upload it.  If you have any questions or need assistance completing the assignment, please stop by the library or contact us.