Skip to Main Content

Engl100&105 Hern: Find Books & Articles

Structure your search for Library Database Searching

Before you search a library database,  Plan Your Search Strategies

 

1. State your topic idea as a statement or question. 

  • Example: How RuPaul’s Drag Race provides a counter-story against the bias and negativity gay men face AND against narrow definitions of what it means to “be a man”

 

2. ​What information do you need to explore this topic?

Example:   I need info on the different kinds of bias gay men face in the U.S. – homophobia, violence against queer people, rejection by parents

            I need information on gender roles for men, social rules or norms for masculinity and femininity, gender stereotypes, toxic masculinity

            I need information on drag queens

 

3.  ​Identify your main concepts. Make a list of synonyms/similar words and related terms for each concept. These are the keywords you will later type into OneSearch or another library database. Example:

Concept 1

 Concept 2 Concept 3

Gender roles 

gay men

homophobia

toxic masculinity 

queer people

violence

gender stereotypes

homosexuality

 rejection

 

Then decide which concepts or keywords you will search in what combination.

Think about your search limits. Do you want to limit your search to current materials or do you need a historical view? Are you looking for scholarly or popular resources? What are the requirements of the assignment?  What search tool will help you find the resources you need?

 

Combine Keywords/Concepts

Searching databases requires a little more search structure than our average  Google Search.

Always try more than one search!

You can combine your keywords using AND, OR & NOT 

For more about structuring your searches in databases using AND, OR, & NOT (what librarians call Boolean Logic), watch the following videos:

 

Search Tips

  • When AND is between two words, your search results will be limited to sources that contain both words.
    • For example gender stereotypes AND gay men

  •   OR expands your search since either word can appear in your search results.
    • For example gender roles OR  gender stereotypes

  • NOT excludes information, so it  removes the word that appears after NOT from all your search results.  
    • For example NOT conversion therapy

  • Use quotations (know as "phrase searching") to limit the search results.  The words in quotation marks will be searched as an exact phrase
    • For example "drag queen"

  • Use an asterisk* for alternate word endings,
    • For example teach* will pull results containing teaching, teach, teacher.

Start your library research using OneSearch Logo  

OneSearch provides simple, one-stop searching for books and e-books, videos, articles, digital media, and more;  it combines the contents of many of the databases our library subscribes to.

Watch the following OneSearch video about how to:

 

  • Search
  • Limit your search results
  • Locate a book in the library 
  • Get the full text of an article or eBook
  • Copy citation information

 

 

OneSearch Search Steps 

1. On the Library's homepage, enter your search words into the main search box (OneSearch).
Next, click the search button or hit enter.
 
 
2. Next, a window/tab will open with your search results.
You can select options on the left side of your screen to limit your search results to specific resource types, dates and other options.
 
 
 
3.  To view articles or ebooks you've found, you'll need to sign in "to get complete results and request items" (upper right corner). 
Use the same login information you use for Canvas. 
 
 
4. Next, click on the title you're interested in, and a window with more information will pop up. 
To access the full text of the article, e-book or other source you'd like to view, click one of the databases (EBSCO, JSTOR, etc.) under "View Online."
 
For citation information for the article or other source, click "citation" above "View Online."
To email the source to yourself, use the "email" button.