OneSearch (To log into our databases off-campus you'll need to use your email or Canvas login.)
Search most of Skyline Library's article databases and book catalog to find a wide range of articles from academic journals, popular magazines, newspapers and reference sources, e-books & other documents, plus print books available in the library.
- Click on the link above to open a new database window
- To search for more than one "concept", click on Advanced Search below the Search box.
- In each search box, type the search word(s) for a separate concept.
- Type an OR between synonymous words for the same concept.
- Use an * to search for multiple words from the same root, e.g legislat* will find articles with the words: legislate, legislation, legislator or legislated
- Use quote marks (“ ”) around search phrases (multiple words that should be searched together), e.g. “racial discrimination”
sexism OR "gender relations"
college or university or "higher education"
- Click the “Search” button to begin a search
- When the results page is displayed, click on an article title to see detailed information and a summary of the article.
- To limit results to a specific type of source (e.g. magazine articles, journal articles or books), click on the desired type under "Source Types" on the left column
- To see the full-text of an article, click on PDF Full Text or HTML Full Text at the left of the detailed information page
- To e-mail or print an article, click on the e-mail or print buttons on the right task bar. A source citation will also be sent when you email a document. You can select the citation format (MLA, APA, Chicago) from the menu in the email box.
- To do a Google search with the same search words already entered, click “Search” in the Google box on the “Extend Your Search” column on the right side of the results page
- Google does not use the *
- To limit to a specific domain, use site: in front of the domain name (no spaces), e.g.
site:.edu will limit a search to just .edu sites
site:.edu OR site:.gov will limit a search to either .edu or .gov sites
-site:.com will exclude .com
- To limit to a specific website, use site: in front of the website address (no spaces), e.g.
site:nytimes.com will limit a search to just the N.Y. Times website
site:sfgate.com will limit a search to just the S.F. Chronicle website
- When you find a relevant web page in Google results, you can find other pages on similar topics by using Google’s “Similar” option:
- Click on the pull-down arrow to the right of the green URL line of a Google result
- Then click on "Similar", if available (not available for all results)
- Limit by time period:
- Click on “Search Tools” at the top of the results page;
- Then click on “Any Time” pull-down menu.
- Additional search boxes for other search engines are available on the “Extend Your Search” column on the right side of the results page
Finding sources on controversial issues:
Opposing Viewpoints In Context (To log into our databases off-campus you'll need to use your email or Canvas login.)
This database features viewpoint articles, topic overviews, full-text magazine, academic journal, and newspaper articles, primary source documents, statistics, images and podcasts, and links to Websites.
Click on the link above to open a new database window
- If no full-text article is displayed for an article, request the article by completing the Article Delivery Service (ADS) form. Requests through the ADS form will usually be sent to you within 24 hours (often within a much shorter time.)
college or university or "higher education"