Skip to Main Content

Immigration in the United States: Articles

CQ Researcher

Newspaper Editorials

You can find reasoned opinions on current controversial topics in editorials. To search for editorials, add "editorial" as one of the concepts in the search box; for example:

 

editorial AND trump dossier

EBSCOhost Newspaper Source Plus - on or off campus w/ library card

Searching Databases with Ebooks, Journal and Magazine Articles

 (To log into our databases off-campus you'll need to use your email or Canvas login.)
Click on the OneSearch icon for the search entry box  page to find a wide range of articles from academic journals, popular magazines, newspapers and reference sources, e-books & other documents, plus print books available in the library.

  • Click the “Search” icon  to begin a search.
  • To search for more than one "concept", click on Advanced Search next to the Search box in next page.
  • In the first search box, type the search word(s) for the first concept related to your topic. Type an OR between synonymous words for the same concept, e.g. paleo OR caveman. Use an * to search for multiple words from the same root, e.g. paleo* will find articles with the words: paleo or paleodiet. Use quote marks (“ ”) around search phrases (multiple words that should be searched together), e.g. “child development.”
  • In the second search box, type the search word(s) for the second concept related to your topic.
  • Click on the menu dropdown arrow next to "Keyword" on the right of the search boxes and select "SU (Subject)."
  • When the results page is displayed, click on an article title to see detailed information and a summary of the article.
     
     
     

History Databases

Use the following databases to find a wide range of articles (and other documents) from academic journals, popular magazines, reference sources, e-books & other sources.
On campus or off-campus w/ library card

America: History & Life with Full Text (EBSCO) *
Covers the history and culture of the United States and Canada, from prehistory to the present. America: History & Life with Full Text also provides full-text coverage of more than 200 journals and nearly 100 books.
U.S. History in Context (Gale) *
Contains "information on hundreds of the most significant people, events and topics in U.S. History." More info.

World History in Context (Gale) *
Contains "information on hundreds of the most significant people, events and topics in World History." More info.

Viewpoints and Pro/Con articles

Opposing Viewpoints In Context (Gale) *

Database of viewpoint articles, topic overviews, statistics, primary documents, links to websites, and full-text magazine and newspaper articles on social issues.

  • Click on the list (at right) of many social issues to choose from or search for a specific topic not on the list.
  • After clicking on a social issue or doing a search, you will see links to "Viewpoint essays" on that issue. Additional documents on the issue-- including Reference articles, Statistics, Magazine articles, Primary documents & more-- are available by clicking on the appropriate tabs at the top of the page.