Skip to Main Content

Gentrification: Articles

Searching Databases with Ebooks, Journal and Magazine Articles

 (To log into our databases off-campus you'll need to use your email or Canvas login.)
Click on the OneSearch icon for the search entry box  page to find a wide range of articles from academic journals, popular magazines, newspapers and reference sources, e-books & other documents, plus print books available in the library.

  • Click the “Search” icon  to begin a search.
  • To search for more than one "concept", click on Advanced Search next to the Search box in next page.
  • In the first search box, type the search word(s) for the first concept related to your topic. Type an OR between synonymous words for the same concept, e.g. paleo OR caveman. Use an * to search for multiple words from the same root, e.g. paleo* will find articles with the words: paleo or paleodiet. Use quote marks (“ ”) around search phrases (multiple words that should be searched together), e.g. “child development.”
  • In the second search box, type the search word(s) for the second concept related to your topic.
  • Click on the menu dropdown arrow next to "Keyword" on the right of the search boxes and select "SU (Subject)."
  • When the results page is displayed, click on an article title to see detailed information and a summary of the article.
     
     
     

Skyline College Library Article Databases

Database of viewpoint articles, topic overviews, statistics, primary documents, links to websites, and full-text magazine and newspaper articles on social issues.

  • Click on the list (at right) of many social issues to choose from or search for a specific topic not on the list.
  • After clicking on a social issue or doing a search, you will see links to "Viewpoint essays" on that issue. Additional documents on the issue-- including Reference articles, Statistics, Magazine articles, Primary documents & more-- are available by clicking on the appropriate tabs at the top of the page.

History In Context - on campus or off-campus w/ library card
Click on the link above to open a new database window or enter a basic search in box below.

Gale PowerSearch Database - on campus or off-campus w/ library card
Articles from popular magazines, academic journals, newspapers and reference books; excellent set of general periodical databases. To narrow searches, combine topic concepts with AND. - PLEASE NOTE: When search results are first displayed, only magazine articles are shown, if available for your search. Click on the Academic Journals tab to display magazine articles; "Books" tab to display book articles; "News" tab to display all news articles.
Click on the link above to open a new database window or enter a basic search in box below. 

 

CQ Researcher (PLS library card bar code number required from off-campus)
In-depth, authoritative reports on a full range of political and social-policy issues, excellent for background information

JSTOR

JSTOR - Scholarly journals archives * - on campus or off-campus w/ library card
Click on the link to open a new database window

Back issues of important academic journals, including many historical journals (no current issues) going back to 1838. Excellent for in-depth academic journal articles on all historical topics except: recent history and articles published within the last 3 – 5 years. The complete JSTOR database is made up of numerous "collections".

Google Scholar

Search Google Scholar for scholarly articles:

Google Scholar Search

News Databases

Click on the links to find newspaper articles in the EBSCOhost databases and Nexis Uni.

EBSCOhost Newspaper Source Plus - on or off campus w/ library card
860 full-text newspapers, providing more than 35 million full-text articles. In addition, the database features more than 857,000 television and radio news transcripts.