Fast Food Nation: Search Strategy

Research topic example: How does the advertising of fast food lead to obesity in children?

OneSearch (To log into our databases off-campus you'll need to use your email or Canvas login.)

Search most of Skyline Library's article databases and book catalog to find a wide range of articles from academic journals, popular magazines, newspapers and reference sources, e-books & other documents, plus print books available in the library.

- Click on the link above to open a new database window

- To search for more than one "concept", click on Advanced Search below the Search box.

- In each search box, type the search word(s) for a separate concept. Type an OR between synonymous words for the same concept, . Use an * to search for multiple words from the same root, e.g. child* will find articles with the words: Use quote marks (“ ”) around search phrases (multiple words that should be searched together), e.g. “global warming”

For example:

"fast food" OR "junk food" OR McDonalds OR "Burger King"

obes* OR overweight OR fat

advertis* OR marketing OR ads

child* OR kids OR youth OR teen*

• Click the “Search” button to begin a search
• When the results page is displayed, click on an article title to see detailed information and a summary of the article.
• To see the full-text of an article, click on PDF Full Text or HTML Full Text at the left of the detailed information page
• To print or e-mail an article, click on the print or e-mail buttons at the right of the article. A source citation will also be sent when you email a document. You can select the citation format (MLA, APA, Chicago) from the menu in the email box. 

Google Scholar
Google’s academic search engine accesses a wide range of academic articles, books and court opinions. Use the search box below to search Google Scholar.

Many of the articles only provide abstracts (summaries) of articles, not the full-text (or a significant charge is required for the full article). You can retrieve the full-text of most of these articles by using the Skyline College Library Article Delivery Service.

To search for multiple concepts, use ORs between words for the same concept, quotes around phrases, parentheses around each concept, and ANDs between concepts, For example:

"fast food" OR "junk food"  obesity OR overweight OR fat  advertising OR marketing OR ads  children OR teens