Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Recommended Web Sites
Small Business USA
"Learn the steps to start a small business, getting financial help from the government and more..."
BizLink: Your On-line Business Resource
Access to selected electronic and print business resources. Covers careers, jobs, and salaries; company and industry research; international business; investment and personal finance; marketing and demographics; patent and trademark sources; advice on starting a business; and taxes. Includes business forms. From the Public Library of Charlotte and Mecklenburg County, N.C.
An investment charting and research site, with current and historical stock quotes.
EDGAR Archives (SEC)
"Full-text searchable index to the filings by corporations to the Securities and Exchange Commission that are available to the public (including 10-K reports). Non-electronic filings, filings that are not available to the public, and any data prior to 1994 will not be available here. EDGAR - Electronic Data Gathering Analysis And Retrieval."-from LII*
Country Commercial Guides
Overviews on doing business in more than 120 countries and profiles of 110 industry sectors, plus updates on new regulations, currency fluctuations, business trends, and government-financed projects.
"Many Bloomberg publications, including feature articles from Bloomberg Personal, a News section that includes top daily headline stories from papers around the world; mutual fund; stocks; etc., can be accessed without charge. Special financial services such as company news and current quotes are sold on a subscription basis." -from LII*
National business listings.
Links to business resources. Topics include markets, investing, companies, banking and finance, government and public organizations, news, and business directories. From The New York Times.
Exporter Dynamics Database
From the World Bank. This free database provides "comprehensive picture of exporter characteristics in 45 primarily developing countries, across all geographic regions and income levels."-- Choice Journal
Small Business Administration
SBA: Small Business Administration Home Page
The U.S. Small Business Administration provides financial, technical and management assistance to help Americans start, run, and grow their businesses. This site includes tutorials, online courses, links to relevant resources and more. A must see site!
The place to start for locating information on public or private companies around the world. Arranged by country, this is a resource list of sites. Data can include links to market research reports, laws, court decisions, the CIA World FactBook, currency rates, and population. A particularly helpful item is a list of abbreviations used in corporate names. -from LII*
Portal to annual reports available online.
Business Insights: Global (GALE) This link opens in a new window
Detailed company and industry profiles including SWOT reports, market share reports, and financial reports. Thousands of company histories and industry essays from Gale's core business collection. Case studies, scholarly journals, and business news for deep research coverage of global economies.
Other Web Resources
Use Google to search for relevant websites: