LibGuides: Blockchain and Cryptocurrency: Databases

Searching the Databases

To search the Library databases for articles, the simplest place to start is by entering your keywords on OneSearch on the library homepage. These keywords and topics can be searched on the library databases and on Google for sources outside the library. As always, make sure to vet your sources.

Keywords – for exploring a this topic

Blockchain	Cryptocurrency	Crypto
Crypto.com	Coinbase	Bitcoin (BTC)
Ethereum (ETH)	Altcoins	Non-Fungible Tokens (NFTs)
Dogecoin (DOGE)	Litecoin (LTC)	Processing power
Mining and Miners	Crypto exchange	Regulations
Central network	Currency hedge	Inflation hedge
Artificial Intelligence (AI)	The Federal Reserve	Investors
High risk	Speculators	Stablecoins

Opposing Viewpoint in Context

Digital Currency - Opposing Viewpoints in Context
Digital currencies are Internet-based currencies that do not require physical banknotes or coins. Unlike traditional currency, which is backed by a government treasury, digital currencies can be decentralized, meaning their value is not backed by any single institution or government entity. Digital currencies first began to appear in the 1990s, and later innovations in digital cryptography in the twenty-first century gave rise to cryptocurrencies such as Bitcoin, Ethereum, and Ripple. Cryptocurrencies are decentralized forms of digital currency that allow peer-to-peer transactions and keep a permanent record of all transactions for which the unit of currency is used.

Databases

OneSearch This link opens in a new window
OneSearch provides simple, one-stop searching for books and e-books, videos, articles, digital media, and more. It also helps you manage your research. Sign-in in order to: Renew books and videos; Create favorites lists; View full search results. (Some databases, only show results when you're signed in.)
Academic Search Complete (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Full-text articles from leading journals. Coverage is multi-disciplinary and includes full text for more than 3,700 peer-reviewed titles; searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,000 titles. Updated daily.
Business Insights: Global (GALE) This link opens in a new window
A unique source for international business intelligence offering the most comprehensive and convenient way to find case studies, in-depth statistical data coupled with deep research, and the ability to compare global economies, countries and industries.
CQ Researcher (CQ Press) This link opens in a new window
In-depth, authoritative reports on a full range of political and social-policy issues extending back to 1923.
Films On Demand This link opens in a new window
Streaming video database including over 28,000 documentary video titles
Funk & Wagnalls New World Encyclopedia (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Over 25,000 encyclopedic entries covering a variety of subject areas.
Gale eBooks This link opens in a new window
Database of encyclopedias and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research. These reference materials once were accessible only in the library, but now you can access them online from the library or remotely
24/7. Because each library creates its own eBook collection, the content you see may vary if you use the database at different libraries (your school, your public library, or your office).
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Google Scholar provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature available on the web. Full text is not always freely available on the web so sometimes you'll have to link to your library's database to find full text
JSTOR Arts & Sciences Collections This link opens in a new window
Back issues of important academic journals, including many historical journals (no current issues) going back to 1838. Excellent for in-depth academic journal articles on all historical topics except: recent history and articles published within the last 3 – 5 years. The complete JSTOR database is made up of numerous "collections".
The complete JSTOR database is made up of numerous "collections". Skyline College Library subscribes to the following JSTOR collections:

Arts & Sciences I Collection - core journals in economics, history, political science, and sociology, & more humanities and social sciences
Arts & Sciences II Collection - adds depth to many disciplines introduced in Arts & Sciences I
Arts & Sciences V Collection - includes state historical journals, literary reviews and a variety of arts & humanities journals
Arts & Sciences VII Collection - eclectic range of disciplines in the arts, humanities, and social sciences
Arts & Sciences VIII Collection - core humanities disciplines including history, language & literature, art & art history, and education
NYTimes.com Pass (New York Times) This link opens in a new window
Skyline College students, faculty and staff have full complimentary access to NYTimes.com and NYT mobile apps. Your access to NYTimes.com is available from any location, on or off campus. For more information visit: Instructions on how to claim your NY Times Pass at https://guides.skylinecollege.edu/newyorktimes
O'Reilly Media This link opens in a new window
access to 50K+ titles (including O’Reilly books in early release), 30K+ hours of video, case studies from top companies and more—with nearly 1,000 topics to explore in technology and business.
Opposing Viewpoints In Context (GALE) This link opens in a new window
Features viewpoint articles, topic overviews, full-text magazine, academic journal, and newspaper articles, primary source documents, statistics, images and podcasts, and links to Websites.
San Francisco Chronicle This link opens in a new window
San Francisco Chronicle Collection with Historical Archives
Science (journal) (American Association for the Advancement of Science) This link opens in a new window
One of the leading journals of original scientific research, global news, and commentary.
Science In Context (GALE) This link opens in a new window
Contextual information on hundreds of today's most significant science topics, merges Gale's authoritative reference content with full-text magazines, academic journals, news articles, experiments, images, videos, audio files and links to vetted websites organized into a user-friendly portal experience.
U.S. History In Context (GALE) This link opens in a new window
Contains "information on hundreds of the most significant people, events and topics in U.S. History."
World History In Context (GALE) This link opens in a new window
Contains "information on hundreds of the most significant people, events and topics in World History."