Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

ENGL 100 Jones: OneSearch: Find Articles

What are library databases?

library database is a searchable electronic index of published, reliable resources. Databases provide access to a wealth of useful research materials from academic journals, newspapers, and magazines. Some databases also include e-books, relevant Web resources, and various multimedia.

Search Strategy: Using Key Words

Because library article databases don't understand natural language, keywords are part of our search strategy to find the best academic sources available online.

Keyword Searches:

Tip #1: When searching for articles in a database, choose keywords instead of typing in a sentence or question.  

Tip #2: When developing keywords, identify main ideas, synonyms, and broader, narrower, or related terms.

Online Research: Tips for Effective (Search) Strategies: This three minute video describes three important search tips that will save you precious time.

Find Articles in OneSearch

In class I'll show a sample search that's related to your paper topic but not exactly what you'll be searching for yourself.

Broad topic for background research: Sexual identity among African American men.

Narrower topic - research question: What social/societal factors adversely affect sexual identity of college-aged African American men?

Go to OneSearch.

Specific Database: Academic Search Complete

Academic Search Complete (EBSCO) *
Full-text articles from leading journals. Coverage is multi-disciplinary and includes full text for more than 3,700 peer-reviewed titles; searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,000 titles. Updated daily. 1975 -

Sample Search: Academic Search Complete