Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
OneSearch This link opens in a new window
provides simple, one-stop searching for books and e-books, videos, articles, digital media, and more.
It also helps you manage your research. Sign-in in order to:
- Renew books and videos
- Create favorites lists
- View full search results. (Some databases, only show results when you're signed in.)
Academic Search Complete (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Full-text articles from leading journals. Coverage is multi-disciplinary and includes full text for more than 3,700 peer-reviewed titles; searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,000 titles. Updated daily.
America: History & Life with Full Text (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Covers the history and culture of the United States and Canada, from prehistory to the present. America: History & Life with Full Text also provides full-text coverage of more than 200 journals and nearly 100 books.
Biography In Context (GALE) This link opens in a new window
Biographies and related full-text articles from hundreds of magazines and newspapers, as well as tens of thousands of images and links to websites. Search for people-- both current and historic from all eras and fields-- based on name, occupation, nationality, ethnicity, birth/death dates and places, or gender, as well as keyword and full text.
Census Bureau (publicly accessible) This link opens in a new window
The United States Census Bureau is the leading source of quality data about the nation's people and economy. Its surveys and censuses provide periodic and comprehensive statistics about the United States.
CQ Researcher (CQ Press) This link opens in a new window
In-depth, authoritative reports on a full range of political and social-policy issues extending back to 1923.
Diversity, Equity and Inclusion (DEI) Ebook Collection (Ebook Central) This link opens in a new window
eBook in the areas of Asian Studies, Women's Studies, Black Studies, Hispanic/Latino Studies and much more. ProQuest’s DEI Ebook was developed to represent all voices – with a focus on gender, race, sexual orientation, physical ability and religious beliefs.
Diversity Studies (OneFile) This link opens in a new window
This collection explores cultural differences, contributions, and influences in the global community.
Ethnic NewsWatch This link opens in a new window
Ethnic NewsWatch is a current resource of full-text newspapers, magazines, and journals of the ethnic and minority press, providing researchers access to essential, often overlooked perspectives. The database now also contains Ethnic NewsWatch: A History, which provides historical coverage of Native American, African American, and Hispanic American periodicals from 1959-1989.
Gender Studies (Gale) This link opens in a new window
Provides balanced coverage of this significant aspect of culture and society. This database includes topics related to gender studies, family and marital issues, and more.
Informe Académico (Gale) This link opens in a new window
Wide range of full-text Spanish and Portuguese-language scholarly journals and magazines both from and about Latin America.
NYTimes.com Pass (New York Times) This link opens in a new window
Skyline College students, faculty and staff have full complimentary access to NYTimes.com and NYT mobile apps. Your access to NYTimes.com is available from any location, on or off campus. For more information visit: Instructions on how to claim your NY Times Pass at https://guides.skylinecollege.edu/newyorktimes
Opposing Viewpoints In Context (GALE) This link opens in a new window
Features viewpoint articles, topic overviews, full-text magazine, academic journal, and newspaper articles, primary source documents, statistics, images and podcasts, and links to Websites.
Pronunciator This link opens in a new window
Learn a vast number of languages with peerless amount of instructional content available — an average of 10,000 instructional phrases per language. The ProLibrary page offers helpful tools such as videos, drills, quizzes, etc.
San Francisco Chronicle This link opens in a new window
San Francisco Chronicle Collection with Historical Archives
U.S. History In Context (GALE) This link opens in a new window
Contains "information on hundreds of the most significant people, events and topics in U.S. History."
World History In Context (GALE) This link opens in a new window
Contains "information on hundreds of the most significant people, events and topics in World History."
World Scholar: Latin America and the Caribbean (Gale) This link opens in a new window
Provides access to reference, periodicals, multimedia, reports, studies, journals, newspapers, and statistical data. An archive of digitized primary documents focus on the history of Latin America and the Caribbean back to the early 1800s through the contemporary period sourced from collections in the U.S. and abroad.
Example Search Terms
|Black / African American
||Latino / Latina / LatinX
|Asian / Asian American
||Native American / Indian
||Filipino / Filipina / FilipinX
|Freedom of religion
||Declaration of Independence
||Black Lives Matter (BLM)