Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
What's an Article Database?
Beyond Google - Why use Library Databases at all?
Searching the Internet is so easy, but:
- The results aren't organized in the most helpful manner
- Finding quality information is a challenge
- anyone can put up a website
- It's difficult to find peer-reviewed articles
- Not all websites are updated regularly
- Websites change or disappear
- retrieving the content later may be impossible
- Some websites cost money to access
Library databases are a better way to search to:
- Find quality information
- Locate articles by subject, author, title, publication, or date
- Limit results to scholarly/peer-reviewed articles
- Combine search terms for better results
- Discover terms to search with
- Find updated information
- Retrieve articles later
- most material remains in the database
- Cite your sources
- many contain a citation tool to assist you
- Save time
- Save money--they're free for students, staff & faculty!
Which Article Database should I Choose?
If you'd rather search a specific database instead of OneSearch, you have a few choices. From the Library's homepage, select the Databases tab:
Next, select Databases by Title OR Databases by Subject:
Lastly, browse database titles or subjects for the database that best fits your research topic.
Don't forget to ask a Librarian if you need help!
Article database: CQ Researcher
CQ Researcher is an academic article database that includes In-depth, authoritative reports on a full range of political and social-policy issues extending back to 1923.
You can browse research topics OR use the keyword search feature (top right)
Article database: ERIC
ERIC - Education Resources Information Center (EBSCO) *
ERIC is another article database. Eric provides access to education journal articles and resources. The database contains more than 1.3 million records and provides access to information from journals included in the Current Index of Journals in Education and Resources in Education Index, dating back to 1966.