Welcome to your Library Guide!
I'm your librarian, Athena Nazario.You have at least 2 assignments which may require library research to support your work.
For some of the information, Google is the right search tool to use to find the information you need, for example, the information provides by school districts, government agencies, and non-profit organizations (for example head start).
For other kinds of information, current news, reports, research about child development (in journals and books), often using library databases prove to be a time-saving choice that allows for quicker access to published reliable information sources.
Please watch this welcome video!
All current students automatically have a Skyline College Library Account. Your library account can be used to borrow books & materials from all three libraries in the San Mateo Community College System. You don't need a physical card.
Your Library Account provides access to:
Library Databases - Our Library subscribes to many databases, including many subject-specific databases. To log into our databases off-campus you'll need to use your Canvas login OR SMCCD email.
We have Chromebooks & Hotspots available to borrow. Please fill out the SMCCCD Student Technology Request Form.
You will be notified of device distribution days.
How do we know which information sources are trustworthy, credible, & relevant?
Please watch this introductory video about the ways we think about the information we value.
Please post all general library-related questions in the Q&A Discussion so the whole class may benefit from our conversation. Please email me your specific questions. I will reply to your questions promptly Monday - Thursday 8am-6pm, Friday 8am-6pm.
To advance through modules, select the "Next" button (below)
A research process is a step-by-step approach for developing a research paper. It generally involves several activities
Some activities might be simultaneous. You might develop and refine your question after locating and evaluating your sources. Your search for relevant sources may continue after you read and analyze some sources and refer to their references/bibliographies.
Please watch the following 2 videos about research processes:
2. Choosing a Topic
Which comes first--choosing a topic or doing research? Is it a linear process or is it a cycle? What are the components of the research process?
Watch this video to learn more about exploring topics and building a research question.