Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Skyline College Library OneSearch
Define your research question-- not too broad, no too specific.
Then divide the topic into concepts. For example:
1. According to research studies, what is the impact of climate change on sea level?
- climate change
- sea level
- research studies
OneSearch - on campus or off-campus w/ library card
Search most of Skyline Library's article databases and book catalog to find a wide range of articles (and other documents) from academic journals, popular magazines, reference sources, e-books & other sources plus print books available in the library
- Click on the link above to open a new library home page window with the OneSearch search box.
- To search for more than one "concept", click on "Advanced Search" below the Search box (in the database window)
In each search box, type the search word(s) for a separate concept.
Type an OR between synonymous or closely related words for the same concept.
Use quote marks (“ ”) around search phrases (multiple words that should be searched together), e.g. "media use"
"climate change" OR "global warming"
research OR study
Click the “Search” button to begin a search
- When the results page is displayed, click on an article title to see detailed information and a summary of the article.
- To see the full-text of an article, click on PDF Full Text, HTML Full Text, Full-Text Finder, or other link to full-text at the upper left of the detailed information page
- Once you find one article specifically on your topic, click on any relevant subject headings (near the top of the article page) to find more articles on that topic.
- To limit search results to only academic journal articles, click on "Academic Journals" on the left column under "Source Types"
- To find research studies: Look for articles in academic journals that include the following sections (IMRAD):
- Introduction/Literature review: introductory section that discusses previous research on the same topic
- Method(s) (may include "Procedure", "Participants", "Measures", etc.) - always labeled
- Results - always labeled
- Discussion - always labeled
- To e-mail or print an article, click on the e-mail or print buttons on the right task bar. A source citation will also be sent when you email a document. You can select the citation format (MLA, APA, Chicago) from the menu in the email box.
- To do a Google search with the same search words already entered, click “Search” in the Google box on the “Extend Your Search” column on the right side of the results page
- To search just for news stories (from newspaper and news sites), click on News at the top of the results page
- To limit to a specific domain, use site: in front of the domain name (no spaces), e.g.
site:.edu will limit a search to just .edu sites
site:.edu OR site:.gov will limit a search to either .edu or .gov sites
-site:.com will exclude .com
- To limit to a specific website, use site: in front of the website address (no spaces), e.g.
site:nytimes.com will limit a search to just the N.Y. Times website
site:sfgate.com will limit a search to just the S.F. Chronicle website
- When you find a relevant web page in Google results, you can find other pages on similar topics by using Google’s “Similar” option:
- Click on the pull-down arrow to the right of the green URL line of a Google result
- Then click on "Similar", if available (not available for all results)
- Limit by time period:
- Click on “Search Tools” at the top of the results page;
- Then click on “Any Time” pull-down menu.
- Additional search boxes for other search engines are available on the “Extend Your Search” column on the right side of the results page
- If no full-text article is displayed for an article, request the article by completing the Article Delivery Service (ADS) form. Requests through the ADS form will usually be sent to you within 24 hours (often within a much shorter time.)