Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

ESOL 400: Success in Education: Article databases

What is OneSearch?

Search Skyline Library's article databases and book catalog to find a wide range of articles from academic journals, popular magazines, newspapers, reference sources, e-books & print books available in the library.

 

Where do I find OneSearch? 

Library home page

  • To search for more than one "concept", click on Advanced Search Page 
  • In each search box, type the search word(s) for a separate concept
  • Type an OR between synonymous words for the same concept
    Use an to search for multiple words from the same root, e.g. environment* will find articles with the words: environmental, environments, environmentally.
  • Use quotation marks (“ ”) around  phrases e.g. "college costs"  or "rising tuition"
  • Click on an article title to see detailed information and a summary of the article
  • To see the full-text of an article, click on PDF Full Text or HTML Full Text at the left of the page
  • To print or e-mail an article, click on either button at the right of the article

A Peninsula Library Card bar code number is required for off-campus access

Article database: Opposing Viewpoints

Explore both sides of an issue:

Opposing Viewpoints In Context covers current social issues; including pro/con viewpoints, reference articles, and interactive maps.  Includes current events, news and commentary, economics, environmental issues, political science, and more.

A Peninsula Library Card bar code number is required to access from off campus.

Features viewpoint articles, topic overviews, full-text magazine, academic journal, and newspaper articles, primary source documents, statistics, images and podcasts, and links to Websites. - See more at: http://skylinecollege.edu/library/databasesbytitle.php#O
Features viewpoint articles, topic overviews, full-text magazine, academic journal, and newspaper articles, primary source documents, statistics, images and podcasts, and links to Websites. - See more at: http://skylinecollege.edu/library/databasesbytitle.php#O
Features viewpoint articles, topic overviews, full-text magazine, academic journal, and newspaper articles, primary source documents, statistics, images and podcasts, and links to Websites. - See more at: http://skylinecollege.edu/library/databasesbytitle.php#O

Research Starter

When using OneSearch, you may find a Research Starter; this is usually a recent article from an online encyclopedia, and a good place to begin your research, unless your instructor has asked you NOT to use an encyclopedia.

The article will give you an useful overview of the topic AND a list of other relevant sources.

For example, enter these search terms and you'll find a Research Starter on the high cost of college tuition:

Encyclopedia databases

Gale Virtual Reference Library

Database of thousands of encyclopedia articles on a wide variety of topics.

A Peninsula Library Card bar code number is required to access from off campus.