It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
The California Digital Newspaper Collection contains over 1,500,000 pages of significant historical California newspapers published from 1846-present, including the first California newspaper, the Californian, and the first daily California newspaper, the Daily Alta California. It also contains issues of several current California newspapers that are part of a project to preserve and provide access to contemporary papers.
A calendar showing available issues can be found by selecting the Search Newspapers button on the left and then selecting Titles from the menu bar.
Off-site access to Skyline College databases requires a library card.
Which databases of articles to choose?
You can search each article database separately. Read the databases' descriptions to decide which ones to select. How about the databases listed under the subjects of "history", "biography" or "reference"?
Biographies and related full-text articles from hundreds of magazines and newspapers, as well as tens of thousands of images and links to websites. Search for people-- both current and historic from all eras and fields-- based on name, occupation, nationality, ethnicity, birth/death dates and places, or gender, as well as keyword and full text
Back issues of important academic journals, including many historical journals (no current issues) going back to 1838. Excellent for in-depth academic journal articles on all historical topics except: recent history and articles published within the last 3 – 5 years. The complete JSTOR database is made up of numerous "collections".
The complete JSTOR database is made up of numerous "collections". Skyline College Library subscribes to the following JSTOR collections:
Arts & Sciences I Collection - core journals in economics, history, political science, and sociology, & more humanities and social sciences
Arts & Sciences II Collection - adds depth to many disciplines introduced in Arts & Sciences I
Arts & Sciences V Collection - includes state historical journals, literary reviews and a variety of arts & humanities journals
Arts & Sciences VII Collection - eclectic range of disciplines in the arts, humanities, and social sciences
Arts & Sciences VIII Collection - core humanities disciplines including history, language & literature, art & art history, and education