Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

California History: Ethnic Groups & Immigration: Article Databases

California History 310: Research Essay

Gale Online Subject Encyclopedias

Gale E-Books: Online Subject Encyclopedias

If you're still deciding which topic to write about, or need some basic information on the topic you've chosen, encyclopedias are the perfect resource. These online encyclopedias are an excellent scholarly alternative to Wikipedia:

California's Ethnic Minorities

California's Ethnic Minorities: This is a useful compilation of papers presented at a symposium at the Sourisseau Academy for California State and Local History at San Jose State University in 1978. The papers include practical information about doing historical research on the following California minority groups:

  • Armenians
  • Yugoslavs
  • African-Americans
  • Jews
  • Italians
  • Chinese
  • Japanese Americans
  • Irish

Article Databases: Getting Started with OneSearch

OneSearch

Search most of Skyline Library's article databases and book catalog to find a wide range of articles from academic journals, popular magazines, newspapers and reference sources, e-books & other documents, plus print books available in the library.

Click on the link above to open a new database window.

To search for more than one "concept", click on Advanced Search below the Search box.

In each search box, type the search word(s) for a separate concept.
Type an OR between synonymous words for the same concept.
Use an * to search for multiple words from the same root, e.g. legal* will find articles with the words: legal, legalize, legally
Use quote marks (“ ”) around search phrases (multiple words that should be searched together), e.g. “human rights”

For example:

gang*

ethnograph* OR anthropolog*

"United States" 

Click the “Search” button to begin a search

  • When the results page is displayed, click on an article title to see detailed information and a summary of the article.
  • To see the full-text of an article, click on PDF Full Text or HTML Full Text at the left of the detailed information page
  • To print or e-mail an article, click on the print or e-mail buttons at the right of the article. A source citation will also be sent when you email a document. You can select the citation format (MLA, APA, Chicago) from the menu in the email box. 

 

Additional Article Databases

History Gale in Context: US History and World History

Reference articles, primary documents, magazine, journal and newspaper articles, maps and images covering all aspects of U.S. and 20th-century world history. Best for general/background history information, especially articles under the “Reference” category. To search both databases at once, select "" under the search box in either database.

‚ÄčAmerica: History & Life with Full Text

Current and back issues of academic history journals. Best for in-depth academic journal articles on all historical topics

JSTOR scholarly journals
Back issues of important academic journals, including many historical journals (no current issues) going back to 1838.
Excellent for in-depth academic journal articles on all historical topics except: recent history and articles published within the last 3 – 5 years.

California: Historical Newspapers

California Digital Newspaper Collection
Full-text (digitized) of over 30 California newspapers from 1846 to the present

Chronicling America: Searchable database of U.S. newspapers with descriptive information and select digitization of historic pages. A partnership between the National Endowment for the Humanities (NEH) and the Library of Congress (LC).

CQ Historic Documents

Historical San Francisco Chronicle (1865-1922)
Full-text of all S.F. Chronicle articles from 1865-1922