Black History: Articles / Databases

OneSearch (To log in from off-campus use your email or Canvas login.)
Search most of Skyline Library's article databases and book catalog to find a wide range of articles from academic journals, popular magazines, newspapers and reference sources, e-books & other documents, plus print books available in the library.

Click on the link above to open a new database window

To search for more than one "concept", click on Advanced Search below the Search box.

In each search box, type the search word(s) for a separate concept.
Type an OR between synonymous words for the same concept.
Use an * to search for multiple words from the same root, e.g. test* will find articles with the words: test, tests, testing, tested
Use quote marks (“ ”) around search phrases (multiple words that should be searched together), e.g. “standardized test*”

• Click the “Search” button to begin a search
• When the results page is displayed, click on an article title to see detailed information and a summary of the article.
• To see the full-text of an article, click on PDF Full Text or HTML Full Text at the upper left of the detailed information page
• To print or e-mail an article, click on the print or e-mail buttons at the right of the article. 

U.S. History in Context To log in from off-campus use your email or Canvas login.
Reference articles, primary documents, magazine, journal and newspaper articles, maps and images covering all aspects of U.S. and 20th-century world history. Best for general/background history information, especially articles under the “Reference” category. To search both databases at once, select "Both World and US" under the search box in either database.

• Enter search word(s) and click the Search button
• At results page, articles are organized by type -- "Reference" (articles from reference books), "Academic journals", "Primary Sources", "Images", “News” & more.
• Click on the title of an article to display the full text of the article.. 
  Click on the title of an article to display the full text of the article.
• You can email or print any article by using the appropriate buttons at the top right of each article (Under “Tools”.)

America: History & Life with Full Text To log in from off-campus use your email or Canvas login.
Current and back issues of academic history journals. Best for in-depth academic journal articles on all historical topics

Historical N.Y. Times (1851-1922) (library card number required from off-campus) 

Full-text of all New York Times articles from 1851-2013.

Historical San Francisco Chronicle (1865-1922) (library card number required from off-campus) 

Full-text of all San Francisco Chronicle articles from 1865-1922

California Digital Newspaper Collection
Full-text (digitized) of over 30 California newspapers from 1846 to the present

Chronicling America: Searchable database of U.S. newspapers with descriptive information and select digitization of historic pages. A partnership between the National Endowment for the Humanities (NEH) and the Library of Congress (LC).

CQ Historic Documents (library card number required from off-campus)
Database of over 3200 full-text documents covering the most significant events of each year from 1972 to the present. These documents range from presidential speeches, international agreements, and Supreme Court decisions to U.S. governmental reports, scientific findings, and cultural discussions.