Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Social Issues & Movements: Articles

Article Databases

OneSearch (To log into our databases off-campus you'll need to use your email or Canvas login.)

Search most of Skyline Library's article databases and book catalog to find a wide range of articles from academic journals, popular magazines, newspapers and reference sources, e-books & other documents, plus print books available in the library.

Click on the link above to open a new database window

To search for more than one "concept", click on Advanced Search below the Search box.

In each search box, type the search word(s) for a separate concept.
Type an OR between synonymous words for the same concept.
Use an * to search for multiple words from the same root, e.g. legal* will find articles with the words: legal, legalize, legally
Use quote marks (“ ”) around search phrases (multiple words that should be searched together), e.g. “human rights”

Article Database: CQ Researcher

In-depth articles on the most important issues of the day. Reports are written by experienced journalists, footnoted and professionally fact-checked. Full-length articles include an overview, historical background, chronology, pro/con feature, plus resources for additional research.

(To log into our databases off-campus you'll need to use your email or Canvas login.)

Article database: Opposing Viewpoints

Database of viewpoint articles, topic overviews, statistics, primary documents, links to websites, and full-text magazine and newspaper articles on social issues.

Click on the list (at right) of many social issues to choose from or search for a specific topic not on the list.

After clicking on a social issue or doing a search, you will see links to "Viewpoint essays" on that issue. Additional documents on the issue-- including Reference articlesStatisticsMagazine articlesPrimary documents & more-- are available by clicking on the appropriate tabs at the top of the page.

(To log into our databases off-campus you'll need to use your email or Canvas login.)