Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Environmental Issues: ENGL & ESOL: Articles

What is One Search

OneSearch Logo  provides simple, one-stop searching for books and e-books, videos, articles, digital media, and more.

It also helps you manage your research. Sign-in in order to:

  • Renew books and videos
  • Create favorites lists
  • View full search results. (Some databases, only show results when you're signed in.)

 

CQ Researcher

CQ Researcher database provides lists of topics that link directly to articles that may be just right for your research project. 

Begin browsing the category Environment, Climate and Natural Resources.

Next, pick a subtopic that interests you to find specific articles. Don't forget the References at the end of each article.

Ask a Librarian if you'd like help locating them.

Ask a Librarian

Not sure where to start? 

undefined

Getting Started: General Science Databases & Magazines

Access Science encyclopedia Online version of the McGraw-Hill Encyclopedia of Science & Technology. Encyclopedia articles are very useful as you begin your background research.

Gale Science in Context A general science database, also great for background information.

Science Magazine One of the world's leading scientific journals, published weekly. Issues from 1997 to present.

Article Databases: Global Issues

Global Issues (GALE)

The Global Issues database offers international viewpoints on a broad spectrum of global issues, topics, and current events.

It includes hundreds of continuously updated issue and country portals that bring together a variety of sources for analysis of these issues. This database includes a range of multimedia sources including podcasts, video, and interactive graphs.

Article Databases: GreenFILE

GreenFILE (EBSCOHost) 

GreenFILE draws on the connections between the environment and a variety of disciplines such as agriculture, education, law, health and technology.

Topics covered include global climate change, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling and more.

Articles come from academic journals, magazines, newspapers & other sources, plus e-books, related to the environment.

Click on the link above to open a new database window.

To search for more than one "concept", click on Advanced Search below the Search box.

 For example:

“food scraps” OR waste AND 

compost* OR recycl* AND

college* OR universit*

Click the “Search” button to begin a search.

Article Databases

JSTOR - Scholarly journals archives

Includes important academic journals, including many historical journals (no current issues) going back to 1838. Best for in-depth academic journal articles on all historical topics except recent history and articles published within the last 3 – 5 years.

Use the Advanced Search feature and try a search.

For example:

"global warming" OR "climate change"

ocean OR coast OR beaches

California OR "Bay Area" OR "San Francisco"