Skip to main content

Ethnic and Cultural Diversity: Hispanic/Latino Americans

Web Resources

Hispanic/Latin Americans

Andanzas al Web Latino: A gateway to U.S.-Mexico border resources.

Bracero History Archive: A joint project of the Center for History and New Media, George Mason University, the Smithsonian National Museum of American History, Brown University and the Institute of Oral History at the University of Texas at El Paso.

California Latino Demographic Databook: Selected census information detailing "characteristics for Latinos by national origin, nativity, citizenship, and period of entry for the foreign-born", and providing comparative figures for non-Hispanic whites, blacks, and Asians.

Changing America: Indicators of Social and Economic Well-Being by Race and Hispanic Origin: Data prepared by the Council of Economic Advisers for the President's Initiative on Race.

Chicano Art Digital Image Collection: A collection of nearly 1,400 works from artists demonstrating "a strong identification with the Chicano Movement and a commitment to the ideals inherent in Chicano art.

Hispanic Genealogy Reference Center: Links for genealogical research from the Hispanic Genealogical Society of New York.

Julian Samora Research Institute (JSRI):The premier midwest research center for Latinos. Publishes research and working papers.

La Opinion Digital: Full-text version of this historic Los Angeles Spanish language newspaper.

LANIC: Hispanic and Latino Internet Resources: A major portal with links to a wide range of information on US Hispanics and Chicano and Latino Studies.

LatinBayArea.com: Latino-focused business and educational information, events, news, people's home pages, links to Web sites, entertainment, and community resources for the San Francisco Bay Area.

Latino USA: Radio journal of Latino news and culture, in English, from National Public Radio.

League of United Latin American Citizens (LULAC): LULAC is the largest and oldest Hispanic Organization in the United States. LULAC advances the economic condition, educational attainment, political influence, health and civil rights of Hispanic Americans through community-based programs operating at more than 700 LULAC councils nationwide. The organization involves and serves all Hispanic nationality groups.

Mexican American Legal Defense and Educational Fund (MALDEF): Founded in 1968, MALDEF is the nation’s leading non-profit Latino legal organization. It promotes equality and justice through litigation, advocacy, public policy, and community education in the areas of employment, immigrants’ rights, voting rights, education, and language rights.

National Association of Latino Elected and Appointed Officials (NALEO): The non-partisan leadership organization of the nation's more than 6,000 Latino elected and appointed officials.

Unidos (formerly National Council of La Raza: Well-organized web site from this policy focused organization provides extensive annotated lists of NCLR publications for sale, news briefs on immigration, and an unannotated list of other Web sites of interest. In English; includes search engine.

Pew Research Center: HispanicTrends : Research reports & fact sheets on topics such as Hispanics in the military, results of surveys of Latino populations, news, and related links.

Smithsonian Latino Center: The Center celebrates Latino culture and achievement in America through exhibits, research, collections, and educational programs.

Tomas Rivera Policy Institute (USC): A policy institute at USC. The site contains research reports and other publications of interest to Latinos and other ethnic groups.

UCLA Chicano Studies Research Center: Excellent links to sources of information on Chicana/os.

Voces Oral History Project: Giving Voice to the American Latino Experience: More than 400 interviews documenting Latino WWII experiences.