Skip to main content

Ethnic and Cultural Diversity: African Americans

Web Resources

African Americans

Abolitionist Map of America

African American Historic Sites Database

African American Performance Art Archive

African American Registry: The largest African American History website in the world!

Behind the Veil: Documenting African-American Life in the Jim Crow South

Black History Month - African American Historical Facts: This website contains over 2,000 entries delivering African American history facts every day of the year searchable by date or keyword.

The Black Population in the United States: Census information on African Americans in the United States.

Black Lives Matter Movement: An up to date research guide from the University of Wisconsin-Madison Libraries..

BlackLivesMatter: The official website of the movement.

Eyewitness: American Originals from the National Archives

Frederick Douglass Project

Freedmen's Bureau Online

HistoryMakers Digital Archive

Low Country Africana

Maryland Commission on African American History and Culture

A. Philip Randolph Pullman Porter Museum: Celebrating African Americans in US Labor History.

RACE - Are We So Different?

Samuel J. May Anti-Slavery Collection

Slavery & Abolition in the US

Schomburg Center for Research In Black Culture: New York Public Library's Schomburg Center African American collections.

Trans-Atlantic Slave Trade Database, Voyages: Look for particular voyages in this database of documented slaving expeditions. Create listings, tables, charts, and maps using information from the database. Also links to African Names Database.  This database identifies over 67,000 Africans aboard slave ships, using name, age, gender, origin, and place of embarkation.

Voices from the Gaps: Women Writers of Color: VG provides resources about artists and writers of color.

 

‚ÄčUse the RED tabs (above) to search for BooksArticles, and Videos and to Cite Sources.

If you have any questions, please contact a Skyline College Librarian.