Skip to main content

Ethnic and Cultural Diversity: Web Resources

Web Resources

General sites relating to ethnic and cultural diversity issues (by ethnicity)

California Ethnic and Multicultural Archives: A permanent program offering collections of primary research materials that document the cultural and political experiences of the African American, Asian American, Chicano/Latino, and Native American ethnic groups in California. The broad-based collection of materials represents the cultural, ethnic, and racial diversity that characterizes the state's population.

How Race Was Lived in America: A Decade-by-Decade Selection of Articles from the N.Y. Times: Articles from the late 1800's to 2000.

The Multicultural American West: "This site is intended as a space for the interactive exchange of ideas, information, and educational tools related to American West in multicultural and intercultural perspective. We hope to serve high school and college students, teachers, professors and independent scholars with an interest in the multicultural West. By "multicultural" we mean to stress culture as defined by race, ethnicity, language, and nationhood, but also to include gender, sexuality, class, religion, and other factors as distinct cultural forces." from the American Studies Program, Washington State University.

The Myth of the Melting Pot: America's Racial and Ethnic Divides: A series of articles about racial and ethnic divisions in the US from the Washington Post.

National Forum on People's Differences: Post or answer questions about different cultures or peoples. "Designed to give you a way to ask people from other ethnic or cultural backgrounds the questions you've always been too embarrassed or uncomfortable to ask." Questions and their answers from the past week can be viewed, search the archive of past questions, or answer a posted question. Also known as the Y? forum, this site is maintained and moderated by an editor at the Florida Times-Union.

Racial Profiling in America: This site from the American Civil Liberties Union includes the ACLU's special report on "driving while Black," articles from current news sources & an archive going back to 1999, plus a "bust card", giving guidelines on your rights when stopped and tips on what you should and should not do.

Southern Poverty Law Center: This organization combats hate, intolerance and discrimination through education and litigation. Includes Klanwatch and Militia Task Force, which monitor white supremacist and extremist activity, Legal Action, current and historical civil rights cases, and Teaching Tolerance, excerpts from this free to educators magazine, including an excellent, annotated, Recommended Reading list.

Tolerance.org: This site's goal is "to awaken people of all ages to the problem of hate and intolerance [and] to equip them with the best tolerance ideas." Includes news articles about hate and tolerance, a U.S. map of hate and human rights groups, and advice and materials for fighting hate crimes as well as educating others. From the Southern Poverty Law Center.

Understanding Prejudice: "More than 2,000 links to prejudice-related resources, as well as searchable databases with hundreds of prejudice researchers and social justice organizations." Supplement to the print anthology Understanding Prejudice and Discrimination.

US Census Bureau QuickFacts: Quick and easy links to the latest data on racial and ethnic populations in the United States. (Hint: See "Race and Hispanic Origin" under Topics).

 

Use the RED tabs (above) to search for Books, Articles, and Videos and to Cite Sources.

If you have any questions, please contact a Skyline College Librarian.