Skip to Main Content

Careers, Jobs & Employment: Articles & Databases

Searching Databases with Ebooks, Journal and Magazine Articles

 (To log into our databases off-campus you'll need to use your email or Canvas login.)
Click on the OneSearch icon for the search entry box  page to find a wide range of articles from academic journals, popular magazines, newspapers and reference sources, e-books & other documents, plus print books available in the library.

  • Click the “Search” icon  to begin a search.
  • To search for more than one "concept", click on Advanced Search next to the Search box in next page.
  • In the first search box, type the search word(s) for the first concept related to your topic. Type an OR between synonymous words for the same concept, e.g. paleo OR caveman. Use an * to search for multiple words from the same root, e.g. paleo* will find articles with the words: paleo or paleodiet. Use quote marks (“ ”) around search phrases (multiple words that should be searched together), e.g. “child development.”
  • In the second search box, type the search word(s) for the second concept related to your topic.
  • Click on the menu dropdown arrow next to "Keyword" on the right of the search boxes and select "SU (Subject)."
  • When the results page is displayed, click on an article title to see detailed information and a summary of the article.
     
     
     

Sample Research Question

Question:

What are the job satisfaction rates, pay rates, or common complaints for automotive mechanics?

Concepts:

1. job satisfaction OR pay OR complaints

2. auto mechanics

3.
 

Advanced Search:

"job satisfaction" OR pay OR salaries OR complaints OR conditions
AND "auto mechanics" OR "automotive mechanics"
AND

Occupation Information Databases

Occupational Outlook Handbook: Latest information from the federal government on employment outlook, educational requirements, salary to expect - for most occupations.

CareerOneStop / America’s Career Infonet: A US Department of Labor-sponsored portal that provides extensive information about careers and job hunting, including: occupation and industry information, salary data, career exploration assistance, links to state job banks, resume advice, etc. Includes an online version of the Occupational Outlook Handbook

Career Outlook: from the U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics, has articles on a variety of topics—including career fields, career planning, education and training, pay and benefits, and more.

O*NET OnLine: Explore occupations, identify your current job skills (and get a list of occupations that match your identified skills), discover related occupations, and get a snapshot of the skills and knowledge required for your selected occupation.

California Career Zone: Career exploration and planning system designed especially for students.

California Occupational Guides: Information covering individual occupations or groups of related occupations, including statewide information about job duties, working conditions, employment outlook, wage data (state, regional, and local; minimum wage; and prevailing wages), benefits, entrance requirements, and training.

Occupational Employment and Wage Estimates: Employment and wage estimates information by occupation from the federal government. The information is available at the national, state, and metropolitan area level. It is further categorized under managerial, professional, sales, clerical, service, agricultural, and production.

Indeed.com Salary Search: Look up current salaries by job type and location

Test Preparation Database