COMM / Speech Resources: Web Resources

   Reputable encyclopedia with articles written by authoritative authors.

    Basic information on countries of the world compiled by the State Department Staff.

    Overview of recent history with chronological time line and the current political situation of each country. Provides basic facts such as main exports and religious affiliation plus free news articles published by BBC.

    "The Country Studies Series presents a description and analysis of the historical setting and the social, economic, political, and national security systems and institutions of countries throughout the world." A continuing series of online books prepared by the Federal Research Division of the Library of Congress under the Country Studies/Area Handbook Program sponsored by the Department of the Army.

    Portals to the World -- Provide electronic resources on the nations of the world selected by Library of Congress subject experts.
Research Guides and Databases http://www.loc.gov/rr/international/spguides.html

    Basic country information from the World Factbook.

    Check cummulative statistical information from the USA CIA World Factbooks the United Nations Statistical Office, The Library of Congress Country Studies and other sources.

Political, history, social, economic, environmental overview of countries.

Science/Medical/Biology/Chemistry Databases

Quality information on an extensive number of diseases and conditions.

Extensive general health information from the National Library of Medicine.

WebMD offers credible and in-depth medical news, features, reference material, and online community programs.

Quality information on an extensive number of diseases and conditions.

5000+ text, audio and video versions of public speeches, sermons, lectures, debates, interviews, other recorded media events.

Speeches & documents from American rhetorical history

Comprehensive archive (updated daily) of text, audio & video of presidential speeches, statements, etc.

Text of presidential inaugural addresses from George Washington to George W. Bush.

Links to historic and recent speeches and other rhetorical artifacts following the 11 September 2001 attacks.

Text of key speeches from President Johnson (issues include civil rights & Vietnam War.)

Archive of politically significant audio materials.

Collection of speeches drawn from the most famous broadcasts and recordings of the twentieth century.

Texts of speeches by women from around the world.

From the University of North Carolina Speaking Center.

From Purdue University OWL (Online Writing Lab.)

"General Assembly resolution establishing the Council, latest news, meetings, events, membership. "

United Nations Economic Commission for Europe provides Links to official statistical organizations.