Articles - Cosmetology: Esthetic - Calderon - LibGuides at Skyline College

OneSearch

Use OneSearch to search for books, eBooks, articles (from magazines, newspapers, and journals), streaming videos, DVDs, CDs, images, and more, all in a single search. OneSearch cross searches most Skyline Library Databases at the same time. OneSearch can be accessed from the Library website!

Recommended Databases for Cosmetology: Esthetics

BioMed Central (publicly accessible) This link opens in a new window

Over 200 open access (free) journals covering all areas of Biology and Medicine. Registration required.
Gale Health and Wellness This link opens in a new window

Access to full-text medical journals, magazines, reference works, multimedia, and much more. This consumer health resource provides authoritative information on the full range of health-related issues, from current disease and disorder information to coverage of alternative medical practices.
Health Source: Consumer Edition (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window

Alternate Name(s): Consumer Health Complete (EBSCO)

A comprehensive resource for consumer-oriented health content. It is designed to support patients' information needs and foster an overall understanding of health-related topics. Consumer Health Complete provides content covering all areas of health and wellness from mainstream medicine to the many perspectives of complementary, holistic and integrated medicine. In addition, Consumer Health Complete includes the Clinical Reference System and the Lexi-PAL Drug Guide, which provides access to up-to-date, concise and clinically relevant drug monographs. The database is updated on a weekly basis.
Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window

Providing nearly 550 scholarly full text journals focusing on many medical disciplines. Includes the Lexi-PAL Drug Guide, which covers 1,300 generic drug patient education sheets with more than 4,700 brand names.
JAMA Online This link opens in a new window

Journal of the American Medical Association (full-text through Skyline College Library subscription)
MEDLINE (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window

Providing authoritative medical information on medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, pre-clinical sciences, and more.
PubMed (publicly accessible) This link opens in a new window

The most extensive medical journal database available, including mostly abstracts (summaries) of medical journal articles from 1966 to the present. Publicly accessible from the US National Library of Medicine and National Institutes of Health.

Search Strategies

Digital searching can work well when you combine your search words with "Boolean" connectors.

Boolean Connector	What does it do?
AND	narrows the results of a search, though without this operator, the AND is usually implied. This searches only for items containing both search terms. Example: health disparities AND urban
OR	expands or broadens the results of a search. This searches for either term, thus widening the possibilities. This is helpful when searching using synonyms. ("OR is more.") Example search string: genetically modified OR transgenic OR GMO
NOT	excludes specific terms that may be clouding your result set with irrelevant results not related to your topic. This is helpful when trying to remove some results. Example: nutrition NOT diet

Other strategies:

Identify key concepts. Include the useful or relevant keywords in your search, as well as synonyms, rather than a full question.
Use "Filters" to limit your source type, time period, and location.
Need "scholarly" articles? Use the "Peer-Reviewed Journals" filter.