It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
To search the Library databases for articles, the simplest place to start is by entering your keywords on OneSearch on the library homepage. These keywords and topics can be searched on the library databases and on Googlefor sources outside the library. As always, make sure to vet your sources.
In the simplest terms, the artificial intelligence (AI) industry seeks to create machines that are capable of learning and intelligent thinking. It includes the development of computer-based systems that can learn from past behaviors and apply that knowledge to solving future problems. AI, which predates the computer age, draws from a variety of academic fields, including mathematics, computer science, linguistics, engineering, physiology, philosophy, and psychology. Although it did not truly emerge as a stand-alone field of study until the late 1940s, the foundation for AI was formed by logicians, philosophers, and mathematicians during the eighteenth and nineteenth centuries.
Artificial intelligence (AI) refers to computer software that exhibits intelligent behavior. The term “intelligence” is difficult to define and has been the subject of heated debate by philosophers, educators, and psychologists for generations. Nevertheless, it is possible to enumerate many important characteristics of intelligent behavior. Intelligence includes the capacity to learn, maintain a large storehouse of knowledge, utilize commonsense reasoning, apply analytical abilities, discern relationships between facts, communicate ideas to others and understand communications from others, and perceive and make sense of the world around us. Thus, artificial intelligence systems are computer programs that exhibit one or more of these behaviors.
Artificial Intelligence (AI) is the branch of computer science and engineering devoted to the creation of intelligent machines and the software to run them. This process is “artificial” because once it is programmed into the machine, it occurs without human intervention. AI is generally applied to the theory and practical application of a computer's ability to think as humans do. AI capability is designated as either strong AI or weak AI. Strong AI is a computer system that employs an active consciousness in its decision making. This is a machine that can reason, reach logical (and correct) conclusions, and solve problems independently. Critics of AI systems argue that such a machine is unrealistic, and even if it were possible, a true artificially intelligent machine is unwanted due to ethical concerns or the overt fear of “conscious machines” turning on their human creators.
Algorithms increasingly shape modern life, helping Wall Street to decide stock trades, Netflix to recommend movies and judges to dispense justice. But critics say algorithms — the seemingly inscrutable computational tools that help give artificial intelligence (AI) the ability to “think” and “learn” — can lead to skewed results and sometimes social harm. AI might help mortgage companies decide whom to lend to, but qualified borrowers can be rejected if the underlying algorithms are faulty. Companies might use AI to screen job applicants, but skilled talent can be turned away if the algorithms reflect racial or gender bias. Moreover, the use of algorithms is raising difficult questions about who — if anyone — is liable when AI results in injury. The technology is even stirring fears of an AI apocalypse in which computers become so powerful and autonomous that they threaten humankind. Some experts want the federal government to strictly regulate AI to ensure it is not misused, but critics fear more rules would stifle the technology.
Artificial intelligence (AI) refers to the broad branch of computer science focused on creating systems capable of performing human tasks. AI systems can take the form of software (e.g., algorithms), hardware (e.g., robotic arms on an assembly line), or a combination of both (e.g., semi-autonomous vehicles). While the term "artificial intelligence" may bring to mind images of sentient humanoid robots like those of popular science fiction literature and film, most AI exists as computer systems composed of algorithms and large amounts of data entered by humans. Because they simulate human intelligence, AI systems depend upon human input to acquire skills, knowledge, and reasoning. AI has enabled the automation of many tasks, from grading exams and transcribing spoken words to vacuuming carpets and driving cars.
Full-text articles from leading journals. Coverage is multi-disciplinary and includes full text for more than 3,700 peer-reviewed titles; searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,000 titles. Updated daily.
A unique source for international business intelligence offering the most comprehensive and convenient way to find case studies, in-depth statistical data coupled with deep research, and the ability to compare global economies, countries and industries.
Database of encyclopedias and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research. These reference materials once were accessible only in the library, but now you can access them online from the library or remotely
24/7. Because each library creates its own eBook collection, the content you see may vary if you use the database at different libraries (your school, your public library, or your office).
Google Scholar provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature available on the web. Full text is not always freely available on the web so sometimes you'll have to link to your library's database to find full text
Back issues of important academic journals, including many historical journals (no current issues) going back to 1838. Excellent for in-depth academic journal articles on all historical topics except: recent history and articles published within the last 3 – 5 years. The complete JSTOR database is made up of numerous "collections".
The complete JSTOR database is made up of numerous "collections". Skyline College Library subscribes to the following JSTOR collections:
Arts & Sciences I Collection - core journals in economics, history, political science, and sociology, & more humanities and social sciences
Arts & Sciences II Collection - adds depth to many disciplines introduced in Arts & Sciences I
Arts & Sciences V Collection - includes state historical journals, literary reviews and a variety of arts & humanities journals
Arts & Sciences VII Collection - eclectic range of disciplines in the arts, humanities, and social sciences
Arts & Sciences VIII Collection - core humanities disciplines including history, language & literature, art & art history, and education
Skyline College students, faculty and staff have full complimentary access to NYTimes.com and NYT mobile apps. Your access to NYTimes.com is available from any location, on or off campus. For more information visit: Instructions on how to claim your NY Times Pass at https://guides.skylinecollege.edu/newyorktimes
Contextual information on hundreds of today's most significant science topics, merges Gale's authoritative reference content with full-text magazines, academic journals, news articles, experiments, images, videos, audio files and links to vetted websites organized into a user-friendly portal experience.