Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Celebrating the Feminine: HerStories: Additional Resources

Databases

Contemporary Women's Issues 

Comprehensive coverage of issues that influence women’s lives across the globe. Users will find timely and historically relevant content on topics including civil rights, health, education, professional development, and entrepreneurship.

 

Gender Studies (Gale) 

Provides balanced coverage of this significant aspect of culture and society. This database includes topics related to gender studies, family and marital issues, and more.

Organizations

Anti-Violence/Anti-Bias Organizations and Resources

Adbusters: An organization that tries to combat oppressive forms of the media.

Battered Women's Support Services: An organization working to eliminate the abuse of women, providing education, advocacy and support services for battered women.

Hollaback: A project that aims to end street harassment by exposing it.

INCITE: Nation-wide network of radical feminists of color working to end violence against women, gender non-conforming, and trans people of color, and our communities.

Justice Now: An organization that works to stop violence against women, including state-sanctioned violence and incarceration, and promotes alternative responses to interpersonal violence outside of policing and prisons.

Survived and Punished: An organization that works to end the criminalization of survivors of domestic and sexual violence

The Representation Project: This project looks to film and media content in order to break down gender stereotypes.

.

International and Transnational Organizations
Association for Women's Rights in Development: An organization committed to gender equality and a just and sustainable development process.
Center for Women's Global Leadership: Seeks to develop an understanding of the ways in which gender affects the exercise of power and the conduct of public policy.
Global Fund for Women: Makes grants to seed, support, and strengthen women’s rights groups outside the U.S.
Sisterhood Is Global Institute: An organization working to empower women in the global South to define and achieve their human rights.
Women's Environment and Development Organization: International advocacy network working for justice through the empowerment of women.
Women's International League for Peace and Freedom: Works to achieve world disarmament, full rights for women, racial and economic justice and an end to all forms of violence.

 

Professional Organizations
American Association of University Women: A national organization that promotes education and equity for all women and girls.
National Women's Political Caucus: The only multi-partisan national grassroots organization dedicated to increasing the number of pro-choice women in elected and appointed offices.
National Women's Studies Association: Supports and promotes feminist/womanist teaching, learning, research and professional and community service.


Queer & Trans Organizations
Sylvia Rivera Law Project: Works to guarantee that all people are free to self-determine gender identity and expression, regardless of income or race, and without facing harassment, discrimination or violence.
Transgender Law Center: Changes law, policy, and attitudes so that all people can live safely, authentically, and free from discrimination regardless of their gender identity or expression.

Web Resources

Blackfeminisms

"The vision for Blackfeminisms.com is to serve first and foremost as an outlet for the cultivation of scholarship that centers on Black women." Includes the Black Feminist Digest, a series that summarizes research about Black women.

 

Digital Transgender Archive

Provides an online hub for digitized historical materials, born-digital materials, and information on archival holdings throughout the world. Based at the College of the Holy Cross, the DTA is an international collaboration among more than fifty colleges, universities, nonprofit organizations, public libraries, and private collections.

 

The Lesbian Herstory Archives

The Lesbian Herstory Archives is dedicated to collecting and preserving history pertaining to the lesbian community. This website contains select digitized materials from the LHA collection and was developed by graduate students at Pratt Institute School of Information.

 

ONE National Gay and Lesbian Archives (University of Southern California)

ONE National Gay & Lesbian Archives is the oldest active Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, Transgender, Queer, Questioning (LGBTQ) organization in the United States and the largest repository of LGBTQ materials in the world. Founded in 1952, ONE Archives currently houses over two million archival items including periodicals, books, film, video and audio recordings, photographs, artworks, organizational records and personal papers. A small subset of this material has been digitized and is available online.

 

Promundo

"Promundo is a global leader in promoting gender justice and preventing violence by engaging men and boys in partnership with women and girls."

 

U.S. Women's and Girls' Magazines Web Archive

Consists of websites of women's media which previously existed as print magazines, but are now published solely on the web. Collected by the Ivies Plus Libraries Confederation.

 

Women's and Gender Studies Web Archive (Library of Congress)

This web archive collects and preserves online content on topics of importance to the interdisciplinary field of Women's and Gender Studies. Collection priorities include primary sources, first hand accounts, and records of social, cultural, and political movements for gender equality.

 

Women's Knowledge Digital Library

An open-access portal of information by and about women and girls. The goal of the project is to provide users with trusted information that is easily and efficiently accessible and that which can be used in the education and empowerment of women and girls worldwide.

 

Women of Protest: Photographs from the Records of the National Woman's Party (Library of Congress)

This collection includes 448 digitized photographs from 1875 to 1938 depicting the tactics used by the militant wing of the suffrage movement in the United States—including picketing, petitioning, pageants, parades and demonstrations, hunger strikes, and imprisonment

Videos

OWN, "Listen: Dr. Maya Angelou Recites Her Poem 'Phenomenal Woman,'" May 12, 2013

TED, "Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie: The danger of a single story," October 7, 2009

TED, "Get comfortable with being uncomfortable | Luvvie Ajayi Jones," January 2, 2018

Katie Couric (YouTube), "Malala Yousafzai | The Youngest Nobel Prize Winner | #SeeHer Story," July 10, 2020

Uma Mahesh (YouTube), "Stupidity of modern day civillization - Vandana Shiva," August 13, 2018

Center for International Forestry Research (CIFOR) (YouTube), "Wangari Maathai Tribute Film," December 3, 2011

The New School (YouTube), "bell hooks and Laverne Cox Discuss 'What is Feminism?,'" November 7, 2014