It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
JSTOR Arts & Sciences CollectionsThis link opens in a new windowBack issues of important academic journals, including many historical journals (no current issues) going back to 1838. Excellent for in-depth academic journal articles on all historical topics except: recent history and articles published within the last 3 – 5 years. The complete JSTOR database is made up of numerous "collections".
The complete JSTOR database is made up of numerous "collections". Skyline College Library subscribes to the following JSTOR collections:
Arts & Sciences I Collection - core journals in economics, history, political science, and sociology, & more humanities and social sciences
Arts & Sciences II Collection - adds depth to many disciplines introduced in Arts & Sciences I
Arts & Sciences V Collection - includes state historical journals, literary reviews and a variety of arts & humanities journals
Arts & Sciences VII Collection - eclectic range of disciplines in the arts, humanities, and social sciences
Arts & Sciences VIII Collection - core humanities disciplines including history, language & literature, art & art history, and education
You're likely to find articles about your bogey or monster in the JSTOR database. These are generally longer peer reviewed articles from academic journals. You don't need to read the entire article to use it for your paper -- just don't forget to cite it. At the end of each article, you'll usually find an extensive list of references that include other articles of interest. Ask a librarian for help finding these if you need it!
Gale eBooksThis link opens in a new windowDatabase of encyclopedias and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research. These reference materials once were accessible only in the library, but now you can access them online from the library or remotely
24/7. Because each library creates its own eBook collection, the content you see may vary if you use the database at different libraries (your school, your public library, or your office).
Gale E-Books is an online encyclopedia database to get you started on finding information about your monster. These secondary sources are brief, academic quality articles from one to three pages long. They are not peer reviewed journal articles. They do often include a list of references suggesting books you can consult. To get started, try a simple keyword search.
Literature Resource Center (GALE)This link opens in a new windowUp-to-date biographical information, overviews, full-text literary criticism and reviews on nearly 130,000 writers in all disciplines, from all time periods and from around the world.
Literature Resource Center is an easy to search library article database containing up-to-date biographical information, overviews, full-text literary criticism and reviews on thousands of authors in all disciplines, from all time periods and from around the world. You will find articles referencing most types of bogeys and monsters in this database -- usually in the form of articles discussing the works of literature/film that include them.