Skip to main content

APA Citation Style: Articles

APA Citation Format (Commonly used for psychology and other social science papers)

Finding reference information for an article

image of where to find reference information of a journal article
From apa.org.

Basic Rules for Articles in Newspaper, Magazine, or Journal

  • Hanging indentation
  • Authors' names are inverted (last name first); give the last name and initials for all authors of a particular work for up to and including seven authors.
  • Alphabetized by the last name of the first author of each work.
  • Provide full journal title; italicize the title, and maintain the punctuation and capitalization that is used by the journal in its title.
  • In title of articles, capitalize only the first letter of the first word. For a two-part title, capitalize the first word of the second part of the title. Also capitalize proper nouns. Do not italicize. End with a period.
  • Include in parentheses as much of the date as is provided (year, month day) if possible, or (year, month), or (year) and end with a period.
  • Do not italicize, underline, or put quotes around the titles of shorter works such as journal articles.
  • Italicize the volume number but not the issue number.
  • If the article has a DOI (digital object identification) number, you should include the url (with http:// or https:) after the page numbers.
  • If you accessed the article from a database and there is no DOI, cite the article as a print journal, magazine, or newspaper article respectively. Do not include database information nor URL. 
  • If the article does not have a DOI and is retrieve from an online journal, magazine, or newspaper that is NOT part of a database, include the url at the end of the reference. If a newspaper article is retrieved from a news website (e.g., CNN, HuffPost) that does not have an associated daily or weekly newspaper, cite it as a webpage instead.
  • For more information please refer to https://apastyle.apa.org/style-grammar-guidelines/references/examples 

Magazine article

Citation description:

Author's last name, First initial. Middle initial (if any). (Year, Month Day (if given)). Title of article. Title of Magazine, volume number (issue number), Page numbers of article.

Citation examples:

Baars, B. (2015) Business as usual: The exploitation of hip hop. Library Journal, 140 (20), 63.

Majendie, A., & Parija, P. (2019, October 24).These U.N. climate scientists think they can halt global warming for $300 billion. Here's how. Time. https://time.com/5709100/halt-climate-change-300-billion/

Journal article

Citation description:

Author, A. A., Author, B. B., & Author, C. C. (Year of Publication). Title of article.Title of Journal, volume number (issue number), pageshttps://dx.doi.org/xx.xxxx/xyzxxxxxxx

Citation example:

a. Two to seven authors -- Note: Invert all authors' names; give last names and initials for all authors, Regardless of the number of authors. List by last names and initials; commas separate author names, while the last author name is preceded by ampersand (&).

Harachi, T. W., Fleming, C. B., White, H. R., Ensminger, M. E., Abbott, R. D., Catalano, R. F., & Haggerty, K. P. (2006). Aggressive behavior among girls and boys during middle childhood: predictors and sequelae of trajectory group membership. Aggr. Behav. Aggressive Behavior, 32(4), 279-293.

b. More than seven authors -- List by last names and initials; commas separate author names. After the sixth author's name, use an ellipses (...) in place of the author names; followed by the final author name. There should be no more than seven names. 

Kikuchi, Y., Kashii, Y., Gunji, Y., Morimoto, A., Masuzawa, A., Takatsuka, Y., ... Momoi, M. Y. (2011). Six-year-old girl with primary cutaneous aggressive epidermotropic CD8. Pediatrics International, 53(3), 393-396. https://doi.org/10.1111/j.1442-200X.2011.03369.x

Newspaper article

Citation description:
Author's last name, First initial. Middle initial (if any). (Year, Month Day). Title of article. Title of Newspaper, pp. section and page number(s).
Citation example:

Homayoun, A. (2017, June 8). 'Closed.’ ‘fake.’ ‘private’: The secret social, medialLives of teenagers.. The New York Times, p. B8.

Electronic version:

Homayoun, A. (2017, June 7)'Closed.’ ‘fake.’ ‘private’: The secret social media lives of teenagers.The New York Times. https://www.nytimes.com/2017/06/07/well/family/the-secret-social-media-lives-of-teenagers.html.com.

Electronic copy of a journal article retrieved from a database

Citation description:
When referencing material obtained by searching an article database (such as EbscoHost or Proquest databases), and if the database entry includes a DOI for the article, provide the url of the DOI. if there is no DOI, cite the article using print article format. DO NOT include database information or url unless the journal article comes from a database that publishes original, proprietary content, such as UpToDate (for more information please refer to https://apastyle.apa.org/style-grammar-guidelines/references/database-information)
Citation examples:

Jennings, Jerry L. (2007). Dreams without disguise: The self-evident nature of dreams. Humanistic Psychologist, 35, 253-274. https://doi.org/10.1080/08873260701415413.

Ayalon, L & Young, M. E. (2005). Racial group differences in help-seeking behaviors. Journal of Social Psychology, 145, 443-449

Article for which the full text is accessed from the Internet

Citation description:
Article information as shown above for magazine, journal or newspaper with the addition of: Retrieved from URL (web address).
Citation example:

Jacobson, J. W., Mulick, J. A., & Schwartz, A. A. (1999). A history of facilitated communication: Science, pseudoscience, and antiscience: Science working group on facilitated communication. American Psychologist, 50, 750-765. Retrieved from http://www.apa.org/journals

Article from an online journal

Citation description:
Article information as shown above for magazine, journal or newspaper, with the addition of: Retrieved from URL (web address).
Citation example:

Gmytrasiewicz, P. J. & Doshi, P. (2005). A framework for sequential planning in multi-agent settings. Journal of Artifical Intelligence Research, 24, 49-79. Retrieved from http://www.cs.cmu.edu/afs/cs/project/jair/pub/volume24/gmytrasiewicz05a.pdf