Skip to main content

MLA Citation Style 7th Edition: Articles

Magazine article

Citation format for paper copies of articles.

Citation description:

Author's last name, First name Middle initial (if any). "Title of Article." Title of Magazine. Day (if given) Month (abbreviated except May, June, and July) Year: Page numbers of article (if the article is not printed on consecutive pages, give the first page followed by a +). Medium of publication.

Citation examples:

 

Bazell, Robert. "Science and Society: Growth Industry." New Republic 15 Mar. 1993: 13-14. 

Frank, Michael. "The Wild, Wild West." Architectural Digest June 1993: 180+. 

Journal article

Citation format for paper copies of articles.

Citation description:

Author's Last name, First name Middle initial (if any). "Title of article." Journal title. Volume number. Issue number (if each issue number begins on page 1) (Date of publication): page numbers. Medium of publication.

Citation example:

 

Babrow, Austin S. "Student Motives for Watching Soap Operas." Journal of Broadcasting & Electronic Media 31.3 (Summer 1997): 309-321. Print.

Newspaper article

Citation format for paper copies of articles.

Citation description:

Author's last name, First name Middle initial (if any). "Article Title." Title of Newspaper. Day Month (abbreviated except May, June, and July) Year: Section and page number(s) (if the article is not printed on consecutive pages, just give the first page followed by +). Medium of publication.

Citation example:

 

MacKenzie, Bill. "Packin' the Heat." San Francisco Chronicle 4 Nov. 1993: A16+.

Book review article

Citation format for paper copies of articles.

Citation description:

Reviewer's last name, First name Middle initial (if any). "Article Title." (if more than "Book Review" and/or title of the book) Rev. of Title of Book, by Book author's first name Middle initial (if any) Last name. Title of the Periodical Volume and/or date and page information for the appropriate type of periodical as shown above. If the full text of the article is accessed from an electronic database, include database information and access date as shown below. Medium of publication.

Citation examples:

Hendrickson, Donald. Rev. of The Case Against Immigration: The Moral, Economic Social and Environmental Reasons for Reducing United States Immigration Back to Traditional Levels, by Roy Howard Beck. Foreign Affairs 75.4 (July-August 1996): 146. Print.

Fukuyama, Francis. "No Vacancy." Rev. of The Case Against Immigration: The Moral, Economic Social and Environmental Reasons for Reducing United States Immigration Back to Traditional Levels, by Roy Howard Beck. New York Times Book Review 1 Sept. 1996:18. Print.

Citation Format for Articles from Encyclopedias or Other Reference Sources, including Online Reference Sources

Citation description:

Author's last name, First name Middle initial (if any). [If no author listed, begin with article title.] "Title of Article: Subtitle of Article (if any)." Title of Encyclopedia or Other Reference Source. Year of Publication ed. Medium of publication.

Citation example:

Naisbitt, John, Thea K. Flaum and Oscar Handlin. "United States: Immigration." Encyclopaedia Britannica: Macropaedia. 1998 ed. Print.

Article from a Non-Major Print Encyclopedia or Other Reference Source

Citation description:

Author's last name, First name Middle initial (if any). [If no author listed, begin with article title.] "Title of Article: Subtitle of Article (if any)." Title of Encyclopedia or Other Reference Source. Ed. Encyclopedia Editor's name (if any). Edition (if not first edition). Number of volumes. Place of publication: Publisher, Year of publication. Medium of publication.

Citation example:

Helweg, Arthur W. "Immigration." Encyclopedia of Social Issues. Ed. John K. Roth. 6 vols. New York: Marshall Cavendish, 1997. Print.

Article from an Online Encyclopedia or Other Online Reference Database

Citation description:

Author's last name, First name Middle initial (if any). [If no author listed, begin with article title.] "Title of Article: Subtitle of Article (if any)." Title of Encyclopedia or Other Reference Source. Date of Publication or Latest Update. Publisher, Sponsoring Organization or Website name. Medium of publication. Day Month Year of researcher's visit. <URL (web address) of the page.

Citation example:

Berthoff, Roland. "United States of America: The People: Colonial and National Immigration." Encyclopedia Americana. 2004. Grolier Online. Web. 29 Mar. 2007. <http://www.go.grolier.com/gol>.

"Charles Dickens." Authors and Artists for Young Adults. Vol. 23. Gale Research, 1998. Biography Resource Center. 2004. Gale. Web. 26 Mar. 2007. <http://galenet.galegroup.com/servlet/BioRC>.

Article accessed from an online library periodical database (such as Gale, or Proquest web-based databases):

Citation description: Article information as shown above for magazine, journal or newspaper ; then add: Title of Database. Name of database service or publisher. Medium of publication. Date of researcher's access. <URL (electronic address)>. (The URL is optional.)

Citation examples:

 

a. Popular magazine article from PowerSearch databases (click here to see actual article from the database):

Adler, Jonathan H. "A Child's Garden of Misinformation." Consumers' Research Magazine Sept. 1993: 11+. General OneFile. Gale. Web. 8 May 2008.

b1. Academic journal article from Proquest Psychology database:

Dodge, Brian, et. al. "Sexual Compulsivity Among Heterosexual College Students." The Journal of Sex Research 41.4 (Nov 2004): 343+. ProQuest Psychology Journals. Proquest. Web. 21 Nov. 2009.

b2. Academic journal article from History In Context database (click here to see actual article from the database):

Hoganson, Kristin. " ‘As Badly Off As The Filipinos’: U.S. Women's Suffragists and the Imperial Issue at the Turn of the Twentieth Century." Journal of Women's History13.2 (Summer 2001): 9+. U.S. History in Context . Gale. Web. 21 Nov. 2009.

c. Newspaper article from PowerSearch databases:

Nevius, C. W. "Homeless Remedy: Serve San Francisco First." San Francisco Chronicle 20 Dec. 2008: A1+. Student Resource Center - Gold. Gale. Web. 8 May 2010.

d. A complete academic journal article reprinted in a collected volume from Literature Resource Center database (click here to see actual article from the database):

McFarland, Ron. "Sherman Alexie's Polemical Stories." Studies in American Indian Literatures: The Journal of the Association for the Study of American Indian Literatures. 9.4 (Winter 1997): 27-38. Rpt. in Short Story Criticism. Vol. 107. Detroit: Gale. Literature Resource Center . Gale. Web. 1 Dec. 2009.

e . An excerpt from an academic journal article reprinted in a collected volume from Literature Resource Center database (click here to see actual article from the database):

Ullman, Leslie. "Betrayals and Boundaries: A Question of Balance." Kenyon Review. 15.3 (Summer 1993): 186. Excerpt in Contemporary Literary Criticism Select. Detroit: Gale. Literature Resource Center. Gale. Web. 1 Dec. 2008.

f. Article from a book from the Opposing Viewpoints In Context database:

Lunneborg, Patricia. "An Unwanted Pregnancy Justifies an Abortion." Opposing Viewpoints: Abortion. Ed. Tamara L. Roleff. San Diego: Greenhaven Press, 1997. Opposing Viewpoints In Context. Gale. Web. 21 Nov. 2008.

g. Book review article from an academic journal from PowerSearch databases (click here to see actual article from the database):

Forman, James, Jr. Rev. of Let's Get Free: A Hip-Hop Theory of Justice, by Paul Butler. Michigan Law Review 108.6 (April 2010): 993+. General OneFile. Gale. Web. 21 Nov. 2010.

Article for which only the abstract (summary) of the article is accessed from an online periodical database on the World Wide Web (such as Medline database on PubMed)

Citation description:

Article information as shown above for magazine, journal or newspaper. Abstract. Title of Database. Name of database service or publisher. Medium of publication. Date of researcher's access. <URL (electronic address)> (The URL is optional. Also, because the length of the URL may sometimes be excessively long, the cited URL may be either the complete address for the web page of the full-text article or the basic address for accessing the database).

Citation example:

LeGrand, E. K. "Potential Risk of Enhancing Survival of Infected Cells." Journal of the American Veterinary Medicine Association 213.12 (15 Dec. 1998): 1698. Abstract. Medline. PubMed. Web. 18 Feb. 2006. <http://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov>.