Early Childhood Education: Articles

 (To log into our databases off-campus you'll need to use your email or Canvas login.)
Click on the OneSearch icon for the search entry box  page to find a wide range of articles from academic journals, popular magazines, newspapers and reference sources, e-books & other documents, plus print books available in the library.

• Click the “Search” icon  to begin a search.
• To search for more than one "concept", click on Advanced Search next to the Search box in next page.
• In each search box, type the search word(s) for a separate concept (as shown in the search worksheet)
• Click the “Search” button to begin a search
• When the results page is displayed, click on an article title to see detailed information and a summary of the article.
• To see the full-text of an article, click on PDF Full Text or HTML Full Text at the upper left of the detailed information page
• To print or e-mail an article, click on the print or e-mail buttons at the right of the article.

---

Kids Infobits (To log into our databases off-campus you'll need to use your email or Canvas login.)
​Kids InfoBits contains curriculum-related content covering a broad range of educational topics. Resources including books, magazines, and news periodicals and more than 600 high-quality educational videos.

---

Child Care & Early Education Research Connections
Freely accessible collection of more than 10,000 resources from the many disciplines related to child care and early education. Includes articles from 500+ journals, reports, grey literature, government documents, etc.  Many article records only include abstracts. 

E.R.I.C. database
freely available on the Web, no password required. Most comprehensive database available for education journal articles and non-journal education-related documents. Includes full-text of non-journal documents, but most journal article records only include abstracts; only a limited number of articles have the full-text available. 

Most comprehensive database available for education journal articles and non-journal education-related documents. Includes full-text of non-journal documents.

• In the search boxes, enter search word(s) for each concept related to your topic
• To search for research study articles, enter: study OR research  in one of the search boxes
• To limit your search to journal articles only: in the “Publication Type(s):” selection box (on the lower half of the search page), select "Journal Articles"
• To limit your search to research reports: in the “Publication Type(s):” selection box (on the lower half of the search page), scroll down and select "Reports-Research" (NOTE: Research reports do not usually include full information on specific research studies.) 
• Click on the Search button
  • In the search boxes, enter search word(s) for each concept related to your topic
  • To search for research study articles, enter: study OR research  in one of the search boxes
  • To limit your search to journal articles only: in the “Publication Type(s):” selection box (on the lower half of the search page), select "Journal Articles"
  • To limit your search to research reports: in the “Publication Type(s):” selection box (on the lower half of the search page), scroll down and select "Reports-Research" (NOTE: Research reports do not usually include full information on specific research studies.) 
  • Click on the Search button

To search for resources at the Young Children website, click on the magnifying glass icon at the top right corner:

At the result page, you can refine the resources you found by selecting the types you want at the right panel (generally, you can click on "Infant/Toddler" and select "Article" ):

The information on where to find the article in the publication is on the top right corner after you select the article; for example:

If the publication date is this year or within last 2 years, present the information to the Library staff at the Check-Out Desk for the print copy. 

Since the Young Children journal website does not provide citation, you can copy the title of the article and search at scholar.google.com and click on the quotation icon  to get either formatted APA or MLA citation.

You can also browse or search Young Children and other early childhood publications at Flipster, the Library's digital magazine stand. Click on "Read This Issue"  and you will see the search box on the top right of next page.

Search Google Scholar for scholarly articles:

Print periodicals related to Early Childhood Education available in Skyline College Library:

• Parents
• Young Children 

To get back issues of print periodicals at Skyline College Library, ask at the Check Out Desk.